Senators Warn Federal Firefighting Budget Nearly Exhausted With Fire Season Not Over
Five senators told Interior and USDA the $6 billion FY2026 fire suppression budget was nearly spent by Sept. 2, citing staffing gaps and firefighter deaths.
In 2025, fire departments serving Avon responded to 27 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $5K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Cooking fire, confined to container lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 63% of all calls.
Aug peaks. May dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
219 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $2.6M cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 41 | — | |
| 2022 | 55 | +34.1% | |
| 2023 | 56 | +1.8% | |
| 2024 | 40 | -28.6% | |
| 2025 | 27 | -32.5% |
For the 1 building fires Avon departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 50 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cooking area, kitchen | 18 | 36.0% | |
| 2 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 9 | 18.0% | |
| 3 | Exterior balcony, unenclosed porch | 3 | 6.0% | |
| 4 | Other | 2 | 4.0% | |
| 5 | Chute/container - trash, rubbish, waste | 2 | 4.0% | |
| 6 | Wildland, woods | 2 | 4.0% | |
| 7 | Undetermined | 2 | 4.0% | |
| 8 | Laundry area, wash house (laundry) | 1 | 2.0% | |
| 9 | Storage area, other | 1 | 2.0% | |
| 10 | Storage: supplies or tools; dead storage | 1 | 2.0% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 9 | 18.0% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Avon mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 14 | 28.0% | |
| 2 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 9 | 18.0% | |
| 3 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 9 | 18.0% | |
| 4 | Arcing | 5 | 10.0% | |
| 5 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 4 | 8.0% | |
| 6 | Hot ember or ash | 2 | 4.0% | |
| 7 | Heat source: other | 1 | 2.0% | |
| 8 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 1 | 2.0% | |
| 9 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 1 | 2.0% | |
| 10 | Pipe or cigar | 1 | 2.0% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 3 | 6.0% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Avon departments in 2025. These 2 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $5,000 | Cooking fire, confined to container | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $5,000 | Fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Avon sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 331,219 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | Recreation and ceremony | 193,812 | 41.3 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 32,431 | 40.7 mi | |
| 2018 | Natural | 20,120 | 40.7 mi | |
| 2002 | Natural | 17,056 | 47.6 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 14,833 | 27.8 mi | |
| 2018 | Natural | 13,023 | 47.1 mi | |
| 2002 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 12,209 | 49.0 mi | |
| 2002 | Natural | 5,538 | 49.2 mi | |
| 2002 | Natural | 4,400 | 46.9 mi | |
| 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3,070 | 34.3 mi | |
| 2002 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,400 | 34.6 mi | |
| 1994 | Natural | 2,115 | 48.4 mi |
Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
| # | ZIP | 5-yr incidents | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 81620 | 219 |
Six Colorado cities with population within ±25% of Avon. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Avon.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.