Home› Indiana› Bicknell
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Bicknell, Indiana

In 2025, fire departments serving Bicknell responded to 40 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $100K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C+ Peak yr 2023 Knox County 2,818 residents 1 reporting departments 196 5-yr
Total incidents
40
-29.8% vs 2024
Building fires
7
Residential 57% Other 43%
Property loss
$243K
$178K structure · $65K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Outside rubbish, trash or waste fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 73% of all calls.

40
Total Incidents
Outside rubbish, trash or waste fire 8 20.0%
Building fires 7 17.5%
Power line down 6 15.0%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 4 10.0%
Carbon monoxide incident 4 10.0%
All other categories 11 27.5%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Mar peaks. Sep dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 1
Feb 5
Mar 17
Apr 2
May 3
Jun 2
Jul 2
Aug 1
Sep 0
Oct 0
Nov 7
Dec 0
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Bicknell

196 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $423K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021* 1 —
2022* 16 —
2023 82 —
2024 57 -30.5%
2025 40 -29.8%

* Well below Bicknell's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 7 building fires Bicknell departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
25%
2
Cause undetermined
12%
1
Intentional / arson
12%
1
Equipment / heat source failure
12%
1
Under investigation
38%
3
Act of nature (lightning)
1%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Bicknell?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 55 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 12 21.8%
2 Undetermined 12 21.8%
3 Outside area, other 10 18.2%
4 Other 5 9.1%
5 Chute/container - trash, rubbish, waste 2 3.6%
6 Exterior balcony, unenclosed porch 2 3.6%
7 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 2 3.6%
8 Entrance way, lobby 1 1.8%
9 Cooking area, kitchen 1 1.8%
10 Laundry area, wash house (laundry) 1 1.8%
11 All other areas 7 12.7%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Bicknell mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 27 49.1%
2 Hot ember or ash 4 7.3%
3 Flame/torch used for lighting 4 7.3%
4 Arcing 3 5.5%
5 Heat source: other 2 3.6%
6 Heat from powered equipment, other 2 3.6%
7 Hot or smoldering object, other 2 3.6%
8 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 1 1.8%
9 Fireworks 1 1.8%
10 Incendiary device 1 1.8%
11 All other sources 8 14.5%
04 The biggest fires

4 fires · $178K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Bicknell departments in 2025. These 4 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $100,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
2 $65,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $10,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
4 $3,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
05 How Bicknell compares

Bicknell vs Indiana vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Bicknell sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

14.19
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Bicknell
14.19
IN avg
8.62
US avg
7.48
2.48
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Bicknell
2.48
IN avg
1.27
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Bicknell
0
IN avg
4.4
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Bicknell

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 2,783 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2013 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 716 30.3 mi
2012 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 418 29.3 mi
2006 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 365 26.3 mi
2006 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 356 37.4 mi
2003 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 150 47.9 mi
2003 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 100 47.8 mi
2001 Smoking 80 26.4 mi
2001 Debris and open burning 75 40.4 mi
2002 Arson/incendiarism 60 32.4 mi
2010 Debris and open burning 43 39.4 mi
1999 Debris and open burning 40 26.4 mi
2000 Smoking 40 45.1 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Bicknell do fires concentrate?

Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 47512 191
2 47561 4
3 47597 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Bicknell

Six Indiana cities with population within ±25% of Bicknell. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Bicknell?

1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Bicknell.

Bicknell VFD
FDID 42001
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.