Ross Fire in North Texas Reaches 100% Containment After 90,000-Acre Run
The Ross Fire near Palo Pinto, Texas burned about 90,000 acres and destroyed at least 167 structures before crews fully contained it on Sept. 16.
In 2025, fire departments serving Big Spring responded to 210 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $300K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 47% of all calls.
Jun peaks. Dec dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
1,433 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $25.8M cumulative property loss. 1 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 376 | — | |
| 2022 | 385 | +2.4% | |
| 2023 | 243 | -36.9% | |
| 2024 | 219 | -9.9% | |
| 2025 | 210 | -4.1% |
For the 35 building fires Big Spring departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 616 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 107 | 17.4% | |
| 2 | Outside area, other | 90 | 14.6% | |
| 3 | Other | 67 | 10.9% | |
| 4 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 52 | 8.4% | |
| 5 | Vehicle area, other | 28 | 4.5% | |
| 6 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 26 | 4.2% | |
| 7 | Cooking area, kitchen | 18 | 2.9% | |
| 8 | Structural area, other | 17 | 2.8% | |
| 9 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 16 | 2.6% | |
| 10 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 14 | 2.3% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 181 | 29.4% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Big Spring mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 266 | 43.2% | |
| 2 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 75 | 12.2% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 52 | 8.4% | |
| 4 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 40 | 6.5% | |
| 5 | Heat source: other | 30 | 4.9% | |
| 6 | Hot ember or ash | 25 | 4.1% | |
| 7 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 19 | 3.1% | |
| 8 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 16 | 2.6% | |
| 9 | Cigarette lighter | 13 | 2.1% | |
| 10 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 9 | 1.5% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 71 | 11.5% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Big Spring departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 59% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $300,000 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Major | Investigated |
| 2 | $250,000 | Fire in motor home, camper, recreational vehicle | Major | Investigated |
| 3 | $100,000 | Fires in structures other than in a building | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $100,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $85,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $80,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $70,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $60,000 | Fire in motor home, camper, recreational vehicle | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Big Spring sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
9 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 1 | |
| 10-19 | 0 | |
| 20-29 | 1 | |
| 30-39 | 2 | |
| 40-49 | 2 | |
| 50-59 | 0 | |
| 60-69 | 0 | |
| 70-79 | 0 | |
| 80+ | 0 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 543,898 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 220,000 | 42.8 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 65,000 | 47.3 mi | |
| 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 39,812 | 46.7 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 28,625 | 46.0 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 25,000 | 44.9 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 20,200 | 46.9 mi | |
| 2011 | Equipment and vehicle use | 19,391 | 47.1 mi | |
| 2011 | Equipment and vehicle use | 16,500 | 48.5 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 15,000 | 32.1 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 13,740 | 37.2 mi | |
| 2011 | Equipment and vehicle use | 10,000 | 29.2 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 8,924 | 43.2 mi |
Top 5 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Texas cities with population within ±25% of Big Spring. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
2 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Big Spring.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.