In 2025, fire departments serving Bloomfield Hills responded to 70 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $100K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Power line down lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 74% of all calls.
Jun peaks. Dec dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
473 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $593K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 119 | — | |
| 2022 | 86 | -27.7% | |
| 2023 | 98 | +14.0% | |
| 2024 | 100 | +2.0% | |
| 2025 | 70 | -30.0% |
For the 0 building fires Bloomfield Hills departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 97 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 24 | 24.7% | |
| 2 | Cooking area, kitchen | 12 | 12.4% | |
| 3 | Outside area, other | 12 | 12.4% | |
| 4 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 9 | 9.3% | |
| 5 | Undetermined | 7 | 7.2% | |
| 6 | Other | 6 | 6.2% | |
| 7 | Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace | 6 | 6.2% | |
| 8 | Chute/container - trash, rubbish, waste | 3 | 3.1% | |
| 9 | Vehicle area, other | 3 | 3.1% | |
| 10 | Laundry area, wash house (laundry) | 2 | 2.1% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 13 | 13.4% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Bloomfield Hills mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 31 | 32.0% | |
| 2 | Heat source: other | 12 | 12.4% | |
| 3 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 9 | 9.3% | |
| 4 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 8 | 8.2% | |
| 5 | Heat, spark from friction | 5 | 5.2% | |
| 6 | Cigarette | 5 | 5.2% | |
| 7 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 4 | 4.1% | |
| 8 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 4 | 4.1% | |
| 9 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 3 | 3.1% | |
| 10 | Match | 3 | 3.1% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 13 | 13.4% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Bloomfield Hills departments in 2025. These 3 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $100,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $20,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $5,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Bloomfield Hills sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,523 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | Debris and open burning | 300 | 39.2 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 143 | 43.8 mi | |
| 2018 | Equipment and vehicle use | 100 | 35.5 mi | |
| 1996 | Debris and open burning | 98 | 49.8 mi | |
| 2019 | Equipment and vehicle use | 80 | 45.0 mi | |
| 2005 | Debris and open burning | 77 | 40.7 mi | |
| 2012 | Smoking | 64 | 37.5 mi | |
| 2003 | Debris and open burning | 53 | 38.8 mi | |
| 2017 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 51 | 43.8 mi | |
| 2015 | Equipment and vehicle use | 50 | 42.8 mi | |
| 2020 | Debris and open burning | 50 | 21.9 mi | |
| 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 49 | 9.7 mi |
Top 4 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Michigan cities with population within ±25% of Bloomfield Hills. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
2 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Bloomfield Hills.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.