In 2025, fire departments serving Bloomfield responded to 22 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $30K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 73% of all calls.
Sep peaks. Dec dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
128 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $553K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 24 | — | |
| 2022 | 23 | -4.2% | |
| 2023 | 32 | +39.1% | |
| 2024 | 27 | -15.6% | |
| 2025 | 22 | -18.5% |
For the 4 building fires Bloomfield departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 68 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 12 | 17.6% | |
| 2 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 10 | 14.7% | |
| 3 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 9 | 13.2% | |
| 4 | Storage area, other | 5 | 7.4% | |
| 5 | Vehicle area, other | 5 | 7.4% | |
| 6 | Cooking area, kitchen | 4 | 5.9% | |
| 7 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 4 | 5.9% | |
| 8 | Undetermined | 3 | 4.4% | |
| 9 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 2 | 2.9% | |
| 10 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 2 | 2.9% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 12 | 17.6% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Bloomfield mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 31 | 45.6% | |
| 2 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 5 | 7.4% | |
| 3 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 4 | 5.9% | |
| 4 | Heat, spark from friction | 4 | 5.9% | |
| 5 | Cigarette lighter | 4 | 5.9% | |
| 6 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 3 | 4.4% | |
| 7 | Arcing | 3 | 4.4% | |
| 8 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 2 | 2.9% | |
| 9 | Fireworks | 2 | 2.9% | |
| 10 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 2 | 2.9% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 8 | 11.8% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Bloomfield departments in 2025. These 3 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $30,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $5,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $3,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Bloomfield sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 3,222 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2004 | Arson/incendiarism | 354 | 44.3 mi | |
| 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 250 | 32.7 mi | |
| 2001 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 238 | 48.5 mi | |
| 2010 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 215 | 39.7 mi | |
| 1999 | Smoking | 201 | 41.6 mi | |
| 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 144 | 34.9 mi | |
| 2000 | Debris and open burning | 132 | 49.0 mi | |
| 1998 | Arson/incendiarism | 125 | 39.3 mi | |
| 2007 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 117 | 38.3 mi | |
| 2004 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 100 | 24.9 mi | |
| 2003 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 100 | 39.5 mi | |
| 2004 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 100 | 45.9 mi |
Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Kentucky cities with population within ±25% of Bloomfield. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.