In 2025, fire departments serving Bloomingburg responded to 18 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 83% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
142 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $5K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 44 | — | |
| 2022 | 20 | -54.5% | |
| 2023 | 25 | +25.0% | |
| 2024 | 35 | +40.0% | |
| 2025 | 18 | -48.6% |
For the 0 building fires Bloomingburg departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 27 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 8 | 29.6% | |
| 2 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 5 | 18.5% | |
| 3 | Other | 3 | 11.1% | |
| 4 | Undetermined | 3 | 11.1% | |
| 5 | Laundry area, wash house (laundry) | 1 | 3.7% | |
| 6 | Processing/manufacturing area, workroom | 1 | 3.7% | |
| 7 | Closet | 1 | 3.7% | |
| 8 | Heating room or area, water heater area | 1 | 3.7% | |
| 9 | Structural area, other | 1 | 3.7% | |
| 10 | Wall assembly | 1 | 3.7% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 2 | 7.4% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Bloomingburg mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 10 | 37.0% | |
| 2 | Undetermined | 9 | 33.3% | |
| 3 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 2 | 7.4% | |
| 4 | Arcing | 2 | 7.4% | |
| 5 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 1 | 3.7% | |
| 6 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 1 | 3.7% | |
| 7 | Match | 1 | 3.7% | |
| 8 | Lightning | 1 | 3.7% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Bloomingburg sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,871 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 355 | 37.5 mi | |
| 2013 | Arson/incendiarism | 280 | 43.7 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 125 | 36.1 mi | |
| 2009 | Smoking | 100 | 46.0 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 100 | 50.0 mi | |
| 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 90 | 43.8 mi | |
| 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 75 | 47.3 mi | |
| 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 70 | 38.8 mi | |
| 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 60 | 49.6 mi | |
| 2004 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 55 | 45.5 mi | |
| 2020 | Debris and open burning | 50 | 26.4 mi | |
| 2020 | Smoking | 50 | 41.3 mi |
Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Ohio cities with population within ±25% of Bloomingburg. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.