Ross Fire in North Texas Reaches 100% Containment After 90,000-Acre Run
The Ross Fire near Palo Pinto, Texas burned about 90,000 acres and destroyed at least 167 structures before crews fully contained it on Sept. 16.
In 2025, fire departments serving Blue Ridge responded to 10 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Blue Ridge's departments reported 10 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 34 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 70% of all calls.
Jan peaks. Mar dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
169 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $350K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 39 | — | |
| 2022 | 51 | +30.8% | |
| 2023 | 43 | -15.7% | |
| 2024 | 26 | -39.5% | |
| 2025* | 10 | — |
* Well below Blue Ridge's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 2 building fires Blue Ridge departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 22 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 11 | 50.0% | |
| 2 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 3 | 13.6% | |
| 3 | Outside area, other | 2 | 9.1% | |
| 4 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 2 | 9.1% | |
| 5 | Cooking area, kitchen | 1 | 4.5% | |
| 6 | Wall assembly | 1 | 4.5% | |
| 7 | Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. | 1 | 4.5% | |
| 8 | Vacant structural area | 1 | 4.5% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Blue Ridge mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 15 | 68.2% | |
| 2 | Cigarette lighter | 2 | 9.1% | |
| 3 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 1 | 4.5% | |
| 4 | Heat, spark from friction | 1 | 4.5% | |
| 5 | Explosive, fireworks, other | 1 | 4.5% | |
| 6 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 1 | 4.5% | |
| 7 | Lightning | 1 | 4.5% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Blue Ridge sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 31,045 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 10,000 | 39.3 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5,600 | 45.7 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,000 | 26.7 mi | |
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,700 | 32.8 mi | |
| 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,200 | 35.8 mi | |
| 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,000 | 30.8 mi | |
| 2005 | Misuse of fire by a minor | 960 | 5.8 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 775 | 47.6 mi | |
| 2012 | Equipment and vehicle use | 630 | 27.3 mi | |
| 1998 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 570 | 49.7 mi | |
| 2011 | Debris and open burning | 550 | 39.3 mi | |
| 2008 | Equipment and vehicle use | 530 | 46.5 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Texas cities with population within ±25% of Blue Ridge. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
2 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Blue Ridge.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.