Home› South Carolina› Bowman
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Bowman, South Carolina

In 2025, fire departments serving Bowman responded to 80 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $10K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C- Peak yr 2024 Orangeburg County 652 residents 1 reporting departments 409 5-yr
Total incidents
80
-24.5% vs 2024
Building fires
9
Residential 67% Other 33%
Property loss
$85K
$50K structure · $35K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Aircraft standby lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 66% of all calls.

80
Total Incidents
Aircraft standby 13 16.2%
Road freight or transport vehicle fire 11 13.8%
Grass fire 11 13.8%
Building fires 9 11.2%
Passenger vehicle fire 9 11.2%
All other categories 27 33.8%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Jan peaks. Jul dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 14
Feb 3
Mar 10
Apr 5
May 6
Jun 1
Jul 0
Aug 8
Sep 12
Oct 13
Nov 7
Dec 1
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Bowman

409 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $155K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 86 —
2022 60 -30.2%
2023 77 +28.3%
2024 106 +37.7%
2025 80 -24.5%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 9 building fires Bowman departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
38%
9
Cause undetermined
12%
3
Intentional / arson
0%
0
Equipment / heat source failure
46%
11
Under investigation
0%
0
Act of nature (lightning)
4%
1
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Bowman?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 103 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 48 46.6%
2 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 16 15.5%
3 Function area, other 6 5.8%
4 Cooking area, kitchen 5 4.9%
5 Equipment or service area, other 4 3.9%
6 Vehicle area, other 4 3.9%
7 Outside area, other 4 3.9%
8 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 3 2.9%
9 Other 2 1.9%
10 Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge 2 1.9%
11 All other areas 9 8.7%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Bowman mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 60 58.3%
2 Heat from powered equipment, other 18 17.5%
3 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 8 7.8%
4 Hot or smoldering object, other 5 4.9%
5 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 3 2.9%
6 Arcing 3 2.9%
7 Heat source: other 1 1.0%
8 Heat, spark from friction 1 1.0%
9 Hot ember or ash 1 1.0%
10 Heat from other open flame or smoking materials 1 1.0%
11 All other sources 2 1.9%
04 The biggest fires

6 fires · $50K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Bowman departments in 2025. These 6 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $10,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
2 $10,000 Road freight or transport vehicle fire Significant Investigated
3 $10,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
4 $10,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
5 $5,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
6 $5,000 Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire Significant Investigated
05 How Bowman compares

Bowman vs South Carolina vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Bowman sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

122.7
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Bowman
122.7
SC avg
18.55
US avg
7.48
13.8
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Bowman
13.8
SC avg
2.67
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Bowman
0
SC avg
23.4
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Bowman

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 23,582 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2001 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 3,684 32.1 mi
1999 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,484 47.0 mi
2002 Arson/incendiarism 1,922 46.4 mi
2017 Arson/incendiarism 1,695 47.5 mi
2002 Recreation and ceremony 1,600 44.7 mi
2011 Debris and open burning 1,247 22.0 mi
2012 Arson/incendiarism 1,200 38.1 mi
2017 Recreation and ceremony 1,115 48.0 mi
1994 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 862 48.3 mi
2006 Debris and open burning 709 25.2 mi
1993 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 650 26.2 mi
1997 Arson/incendiarism 599 49.4 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Bowman do fires concentrate?

Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 29018 405
2 29432 2
3 29477 2
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Bowman

Six South Carolina cities with population within ±25% of Bowman. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Bowman?

1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Bowman.

BOWMAN FD
3775 HOMESTEAD RD
FDID 38217
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.