Home› Florida› Bronson
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Bronson, Florida

In 2025, fire departments serving Bronson responded to 19 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $80K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C+ Peak yr 2021 Levy County 1,424 residents 2 reporting departments 133 5-yr
Total incidents
19
Not comparable with 2024 (incomplete reporting)
Building fires
3
Residential 67% Other 33%
Property loss
$123K
$110K structure · $13K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 68% of all calls.

19
Total Incidents
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 4 21.1%
Building fires 3 15.8%
Passenger vehicle fire 2 10.5%
Outside rubbish fire, other 2 10.5%
Unauthorized burning 2 10.5%
All other categories 6 31.6%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

May peaks. Oct dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 1
Feb 2
Mar 3
Apr 2
May 4
Jun 1
Jul 1
Aug 1
Sep 3
Oct 0
Nov 1
Dec 0
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Bronson

133 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $531K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 69 —
2022* 9 —
2023 28 —
2024* 8 —
2025 19 —

* Well below Bronson's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 3 building fires Bronson departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
0%
0
Cause undetermined
33%
2
Intentional / arson
0%
0
Equipment / heat source failure
0%
0
Under investigation
67%
4
Act of nature (lightning)
0%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Bronson?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 54 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 29 53.7%
2 Outside area, other 8 14.8%
3 Wildland, woods 4 7.4%
4 Other 3 5.6%
5 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 3 5.6%
6 Vehicle area, other 2 3.7%
7 Cooking area, kitchen 1 1.9%
8 Equipment or service area, other 1 1.9%
9 Structural area, other 1 1.9%
10 Substructure area or space, crawl space 1 1.9%
11 All other areas 1 1.9%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Bronson mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 36 66.7%
2 Heat spread from another fire, other 4 7.4%
3 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 2 3.7%
4 Hot or smoldering object, other 2 3.7%
5 Flame/torch used for lighting 2 3.7%
6 Heat source: other 1 1.9%
7 Heat from powered equipment, other 1 1.9%
8 Heat, spark from friction 1 1.9%
9 Hot ember or ash 1 1.9%
10 Heat from other open flame or smoking materials 1 1.9%
11 All other sources 3 5.6%
04 The biggest fires

2 fires · $110K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Bronson departments in 2025. These 2 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $80,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
2 $30,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
05 How Bronson compares

Bronson vs Florida vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Bronson sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

13.34
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Bronson
13.34
FL avg
5.32
US avg
7.48
2.11
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Bronson
2.11
FL avg
0.42
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Bronson
0
FL avg
4.8
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Bronson

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 139,235 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2001 Natural 57,200 39.4 mi
2001 Natural 20,000 39.2 mi
2007 Arson/incendiarism 14,626 42.5 mi
1998 Railroad operations and maintenance 6,500 31.3 mi
2011 Natural 5,679 40.0 mi
2004 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 4,170 38.9 mi
2000 Equipment and vehicle use 3,713 27.2 mi
2011 Natural 3,175 16.4 mi
2000 Equipment and vehicle use 2,933 35.1 mi
2010 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,616 31.2 mi
2012 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,088 36.9 mi
2001 Equipment and vehicle use 2,000 30.5 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Bronson do fires concentrate?

Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 32621 131
2 32618 2
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Bronson

Six Florida cities with population within ±25% of Bronson. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Bronson?

2 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Bronson.

BRONSON VOL FIRE DEPT
660 E Hathaway
FDID 39012100 paid
LEVY COUNTY DEPT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
1251 NE 343 CIR
FDID 390511 paid
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.