In 2025, fire departments serving Brooksville responded to 17 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $25K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Fire, other lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 65% of all calls.
Jan peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
87 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $65K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 21 | — | |
| 2022 | 18 | -14.3% | |
| 2023 | 21 | +16.7% | |
| 2024* | 10 | — | |
| 2025 | 17 | — |
* Well below Brooksville's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 0 building fires Brooksville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 33 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 25 | 75.8% | |
| 2 | Other | 3 | 9.1% | |
| 3 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 2 | 6.1% | |
| 4 | Outside area, other | 2 | 6.1% | |
| 5 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 1 | 3.0% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Brooksville mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 31 | 93.9% | |
| 2 | Cigarette | 2 | 6.1% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Brooksville departments in 2025. These 1 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $25,000 | Mobile property (vehicle) fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Brooksville sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 9,284 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,865 | 46.9 mi | |
| 2003 | Debris and open burning | 1,016 | 48.3 mi | |
| 1999 | Debris and open burning | 1,000 | 40.3 mi | |
| 2010 | Debris and open burning | 591 | 33.8 mi | |
| 2017 | Arson/incendiarism | 390 | 43.4 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 366 | 44.6 mi | |
| 2015 | Recreation and ceremony | 332 | 40.6 mi | |
| 2013 | Debris and open burning | 308 | 45.7 mi | |
| 2010 | Debris and open burning | 300 | 42.6 mi | |
| 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 250 | 47.4 mi | |
| 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 170 | 49.1 mi | |
| 2001 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 152 | 49.0 mi |
Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Kentucky cities with population within ±25% of Brooksville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.