Home› Alabama› Brundidge
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Brundidge, Alabama

In 2025, fire departments serving Brundidge responded to 25 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $100K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade A- Peak yr 2025 Pike County 2,309 residents 1 reporting departments 84 5-yr
Total incidents
25
Not comparable with 2024 (incomplete reporting)
Building fires
4
Residential 50% Other 50%
Property loss
$250K
$150K structure · $100K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Hazardous condition, other lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 68% of all calls.

25
Total Incidents
Hazardous condition, other 6 24.0%
Building fires 4 16.0%
Forest, woods or wildland fire 3 12.0%
Fire, other 2 8.0%
Passenger vehicle fire 2 8.0%
All other categories 8 32.0%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

May peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 1
Feb 0
Mar 2
Apr 2
May 9
Jun 8
Jul 2
Aug 0
Sep 0
Oct 0
Nov 1
Dec 0
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Brundidge

84 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $711K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 18 —
2022 14 -22.2%
2023 18 +28.6%
2024* 9 —
2025 25 —

* Well below Brundidge's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 4 building fires Brundidge departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
50%
4
Cause undetermined
0%
0
Intentional / arson
0%
0
Equipment / heat source failure
25%
2
Under investigation
25%
2
Act of nature (lightning)
0%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Brundidge?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 19 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 8 42.1%
2 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 3 15.8%
3 Cooking area, kitchen 2 10.5%
4 Storage area, other 2 10.5%
5 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 1 5.3%
6 Storage: supplies or tools; dead storage 1 5.3%
7 Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. 1 5.3%
8 Railroad right of way: on or near 1 5.3%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Brundidge mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 12 63.2%
2 Heat source: other 3 15.8%
3 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 3 15.8%
4 Heat from other open flame or smoking materials 1 5.3%
04 The biggest fires

2 fires · $150K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Brundidge departments in 2025. These 2 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $100,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
2 $50,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
05 How Brundidge compares

Brundidge vs Alabama vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Brundidge sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

10.83
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Brundidge
10.83
AL avg
9.37
US avg
7.48
1.73
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Brundidge
1.73
AL avg
1.28
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Brundidge
0
AL avg
11.3
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Brundidge

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 10,152 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2004 Arson/incendiarism 1,005 41.1 mi
2015 Arson/incendiarism 678 44.4 mi
2004 Arson/incendiarism 566 45.5 mi
2004 Arson/incendiarism 504 42.3 mi
2002 Arson/incendiarism 480 45.0 mi
2006 Natural 476 48.0 mi
2006 Arson/incendiarism 471 18.2 mi
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 465 45.8 mi
2011 Arson/incendiarism 450 44.3 mi
2013 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 450 47.7 mi
1999 Debris and open burning 400 48.1 mi
2017 Debris and open burning 387 42.3 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Brundidge do fires concentrate?

Top 4 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 36010 81
2 36000 1
3 36346 1
4 36351 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Brundidge

Six Alabama cities with population within ±25% of Brundidge. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Brundidge?

1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Brundidge.

Hamilton Cross Roads VFD
126 County Road 3323 RD
FDID 05509Volunteer
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.