Ross Fire in North Texas Reaches 100% Containment After 90,000-Acre Run
The Ross Fire near Palo Pinto, Texas burned about 90,000 acres and destroyed at least 167 structures before crews fully contained it on Sept. 16.
In 2025, fire departments serving Burkburnett responded to 181 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $70K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Power line down lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 59% of all calls.
Apr peaks. Mar dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
1,079 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $1.3M cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 282 | — | |
| 2022 | 249 | -11.7% | |
| 2023 | 163 | -34.5% | |
| 2024 | 204 | +25.2% | |
| 2025 | 181 | -11.3% |
For the 17 building fires Burkburnett departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 371 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 79 | 21.3% | |
| 2 | Outside area, other | 75 | 20.2% | |
| 3 | Undetermined | 34 | 9.2% | |
| 4 | Cooking area, kitchen | 19 | 5.1% | |
| 5 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 19 | 5.1% | |
| 6 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 16 | 4.3% | |
| 7 | Other | 12 | 3.2% | |
| 8 | Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace | 12 | 3.2% | |
| 9 | Wildland, woods | 10 | 2.7% | |
| 10 | Attic: vacant, crawl space above top story, cupola | 9 | 2.4% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 86 | 23.2% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Burkburnett mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 223 | 60.1% | |
| 2 | Arcing | 37 | 10.0% | |
| 3 | Heat source: other | 24 | 6.5% | |
| 4 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 11 | 3.0% | |
| 5 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 9 | 2.4% | |
| 6 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 9 | 2.4% | |
| 7 | Hot ember or ash | 9 | 2.4% | |
| 8 | Flying brand, ember, spark | 9 | 2.4% | |
| 9 | Fireworks | 7 | 1.9% | |
| 10 | Cigarette | 5 | 1.3% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 28 | 7.5% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Burkburnett departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $70,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $70,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $20,305 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $5,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $5,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $4,000 | Grass fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $500 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $275 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Burkburnett sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
8 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 0 | |
| 20-29 | 4 | |
| 30-39 | 0 | |
| 40-49 | 1 | |
| 50-59 | 2 | |
| 60-69 | 1 | |
| 70-79 | 0 | |
| 80+ | 0 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 270,507 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 41,000 | 39.7 mi | |
| 2011 | Equipment and vehicle use | 39,907 | 44.1 mi | |
| 2009 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 21,525 | 26.7 mi | |
| 2011 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 18,000 | 20.4 mi | |
| 1996 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 13,702 | 37.5 mi | |
| 2008 | Equipment and vehicle use | 13,548 | 33.5 mi | |
| 2011 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 11,785 | 13.3 mi | |
| 2015 | Firearms and explosives use | 10,471 | 42.0 mi | |
| 2000 | Natural | 10,206 | 43.3 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 8,000 | 43.6 mi | |
| 2009 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 8,000 | 43.0 mi | |
| 2006 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 8,000 | 44.3 mi |
Top 5 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Texas cities with population within ±25% of Burkburnett. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Burkburnett.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.