Home› Maryland› Catonsville
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Catonsville, Maryland

In 2025, fire departments serving Catonsville responded to 260 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $60K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade A Peak yr 2025 Baltimore County 42,767 residents 0 reporting departments 1,034 5-yr
Total incidents
260
+9.2% vs 2024
Building fires
2
Residential 50% Other 50%
Property loss
$320K
$282K structure · $38K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 59% of all calls.

260
Total Incidents
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 70 26.9%
Power line down 41 15.8%
Passenger vehicle fire 15 5.8%
Hazardous condition, other 13 5.0%
Carbon monoxide incident 13 5.0%
All other categories 108 41.5%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Apr peaks. Sep dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 16
Feb 25
Mar 27
Apr 33
May 24
Jun 20
Jul 20
Aug 25
Sep 10
Oct 18
Nov 28
Dec 14
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Catonsville

1,034 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $640K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 170 —
2022 218 +28.2%
2023 148 -32.1%
2024 238 +60.8%
2025 260 +9.2%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 2 building fires Catonsville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
57%
25
Cause undetermined
16%
7
Intentional / arson
5%
2
Equipment / heat source failure
9%
4
Under investigation
9%
4
Act of nature (lightning)
4%
2
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Catonsville?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 77 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Outside area, other 21 27.3%
2 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 19 24.7%
3 Wildland, woods 6 7.8%
4 Other 4 5.2%
5 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 4 5.2%
6 Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. 3 3.9%
7 Undetermined 3 3.9%
8 Egress/exit, other 2 2.6%
9 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 2 2.6%
10 Vehicle area, other 2 2.6%
11 All other areas 11 14.3%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Catonsville mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 32 41.6%
2 Heat from powered equipment, other 7 9.1%
3 Heat source: other 6 7.8%
4 Arcing 6 7.8%
5 Hot ember or ash 5 6.5%
6 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 4 5.2%
7 Hot or smoldering object, other 3 3.9%
8 Heat, spark from friction 3 3.9%
9 Heat from other open flame or smoking materials 3 3.9%
10 Cigarette 2 2.6%
11 All other sources 6 7.8%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $195K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Catonsville departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 69% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $60,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
2 $25,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
3 $20,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
4 $20,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
5 $20,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
6 $20,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
7 $15,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
8 $15,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
05 How Catonsville compares

Catonsville vs Maryland vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Catonsville sits below the national average for incidents per resident.

6.08
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Catonsville
6.08
MD avg
8.27
US avg
7.48
0.05
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Catonsville
0.05
MD avg
1.06
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Catonsville
0
MD avg
2.7
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Catonsville

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 3,672 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2001 Arson/incendiarism 522 36.0 mi
2011 Recreation and ceremony 500 16.5 mi
2011 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 461 30.3 mi
2011 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 431 38.8 mi
2003 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 408 26.8 mi
2011 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 344 49.3 mi
2011 Natural 150 42.3 mi
2001 Arson/incendiarism 100 26.8 mi
2018 Debris and open burning 76 39.3 mi
2008 Debris and open burning 75 48.4 mi
2019 Equipment and vehicle use 67 43.7 mi
2006 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 59 12.6 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Catonsville do fires concentrate?

Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 21228 1,034
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Catonsville

Six Maryland cities with population within ±25% of Catonsville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.