Home› Arkansas› Cherokee Village
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Cherokee Village, Arkansas

In 2025, fire departments serving Cherokee Village responded to 64 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $122K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade B+ Peak yr 2022 Sharp County 5,061 residents 0 reporting departments 278 5-yr
Total incidents
64
+20.8% vs 2024
Building fires
3
Residential 67% Other 33%
Property loss
$241K
$140K structure · $101K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Unauthorized burning lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 81% of all calls.

64
Total Incidents
Unauthorized burning 20 31.2%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 12 18.8%
Authorized controlled burning 10 15.6%
Arcing, shorted electrical equipment 6 9.4%
Power line down 4 6.2%
All other categories 12 18.8%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Mar peaks. Nov dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 2
Feb 10
Mar 19
Apr 5
May 5
Jun 4
Jul 1
Aug 9
Sep 5
Oct 4
Nov 0
Dec 0
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Cherokee Village

278 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $932K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 56 —
2022 64 +14.3%
2023 41 -35.9%
2024 53 +29.3%
2025 64 +20.8%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 3 building fires Cherokee Village departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
43%
9
Cause undetermined
19%
4
Intentional / arson
29%
6
Equipment / heat source failure
5%
1
Under investigation
5%
1
Act of nature (lightning)
-1%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Cherokee Village?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 111 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Wildland, woods 30 27.0%
2 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 24 21.6%
3 Cooking area, kitchen 8 7.2%
4 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 8 7.2%
5 Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge 4 3.6%
6 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 4 3.6%
7 Outside area, other 4 3.6%
8 Undetermined 4 3.6%
9 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 3 2.7%
10 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 3 2.7%
11 All other areas 19 17.1%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Cherokee Village mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 32 28.8%
2 Hot ember or ash 14 12.6%
3 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 10 9.0%
4 Heat from direct flame, convection currents 10 9.0%
5 Cigarette lighter 9 8.1%
6 Match 7 6.3%
7 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 6 5.4%
8 Arcing 6 5.4%
9 Heat from other open flame or smoking materials 3 2.7%
10 Flying brand, ember, spark 3 2.7%
11 All other sources 11 9.9%
04 The biggest fires

5 fires · $140K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Cherokee Village departments in 2025. These 5 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $122,450 Building fires Significant Investigated
2 $10,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $7,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
4 $1,000 Road freight or transport vehicle fire Significant Investigated
5 $10 Building fires Significant Investigated
05 How Cherokee Village compares

Cherokee Village vs Arkansas vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Cherokee Village sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

12.65
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Cherokee Village
12.65
AR avg
11.9
US avg
7.48
0.59
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Cherokee Village
0.59
AR avg
1.61
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Cherokee Village
0
AR avg
16.6
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Cherokee Village

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 20,507 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2011 Arson/incendiarism 3,521 45.9 mi
2002 Arson/incendiarism 1,779 41.4 mi
2000 Arson/incendiarism 1,460 45.5 mi
1995 Arson/incendiarism 1,200 47.0 mi
2012 Natural 1,126 45.3 mi
2011 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 928 31.2 mi
1996 Arson/incendiarism 800 46.2 mi
2003 Arson/incendiarism 800 32.5 mi
1997 Arson/incendiarism 780 40.3 mi
2002 Arson/incendiarism 709 35.1 mi
2011 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 680 22.0 mi
2020 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 666 22.5 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Cherokee Village do fires concentrate?

Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 72529 261
2 72525 16
3 72513 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Cherokee Village

Six Arkansas cities with population within ±25% of Cherokee Village. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.