In 2025, fire departments serving Coffeeville responded to 56 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $1.1M building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Outside rubbish, trash or waste fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 91% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Nov dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
155 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $5.3M cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021* | 5 | — | |
| 2022* | 6 | — | |
| 2023 | 31 | — | |
| 2024 | 57 | +83.9% | |
| 2025 | 56 | -1.8% |
* Well below Coffeeville's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 14 building fires Coffeeville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 62 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 32 | 51.6% | |
| 2 | Cooking area, kitchen | 7 | 11.3% | |
| 3 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 4 | 6.5% | |
| 4 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 3 | 4.8% | |
| 5 | Outside area, other | 3 | 4.8% | |
| 6 | Laundry area, wash house (laundry) | 2 | 3.2% | |
| 7 | Storage room, area, tank, or bin | 2 | 3.2% | |
| 8 | Corridor, mall | 1 | 1.6% | |
| 9 | Egress/exit, other | 1 | 1.6% | |
| 10 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 1 | 1.6% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 6 | 9.7% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Coffeeville mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 47 | 75.8% | |
| 2 | Heat source: other | 4 | 6.5% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 3 | 4.8% | |
| 4 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 2 | 3.2% | |
| 5 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 1 | 1.6% | |
| 6 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 1 | 1.6% | |
| 7 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 1 | 1.6% | |
| 8 | Heat from undetermined smoking material | 1 | 1.6% | |
| 9 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 1 | 1.6% | |
| 10 | Multiple heat sources including multiple ignitions | 1 | 1.6% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Coffeeville departments in 2025. These 7 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,111,111 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 2 | $70,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $50,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $25,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $15,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $1,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $500 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Coffeeville sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 16,005 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,826 | 39.0 mi | |
| 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,200 | 42.1 mi | |
| 1996 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1,092 | 44.4 mi | |
| 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,005 | 49.5 mi | |
| 1993 | Arson/incendiarism | 891 | 42.4 mi | |
| 1994 | Arson/incendiarism | 870 | 49.6 mi | |
| 1996 | Equipment and vehicle use | 750 | 39.1 mi | |
| 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 720 | 24.7 mi | |
| 2017 | Arson/incendiarism | 637 | 43.3 mi | |
| 2014 | Debris and open burning | 636 | 49.1 mi | |
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 626 | 20.7 mi | |
| 1996 | Arson/incendiarism | 583 | 9.5 mi |
Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
| # | ZIP | 5-yr incidents | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 38922 | 155 |
Six Mississippi cities with population within ±25% of Coffeeville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Coffeeville.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.