Two Lithium-Ion Battery Fires in Three Weeks Destroy Homes in Pasco County, Florida
Battery fires in Zephyrhills and New Port Richey destroyed two homes, killed a dog and displaced six people between Aug. 31 and Sept. 18.
In 2025, fire departments serving Crestview responded to 353 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $1.0M building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 48% of all calls.
May peaks. Nov dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
2,794 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $9.3M cumulative property loss. 3 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 493 | — | |
| 2022 | 606 | +22.9% | |
| 2023 | 568 | -6.3% | |
| 2024 | 774 | +36.3% | |
| 2025 | 353 | -54.4% |
For the 52 building fires Crestview departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 521 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 78 | 15.0% | |
| 2 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 66 | 12.7% | |
| 3 | Cooking area, kitchen | 54 | 10.4% | |
| 4 | Wildland, woods | 44 | 8.4% | |
| 5 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 39 | 7.5% | |
| 6 | Undetermined | 31 | 6.0% | |
| 7 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 24 | 4.6% | |
| 8 | Attic: vacant, crawl space above top story, cupola | 22 | 4.2% | |
| 9 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 13 | 2.5% | |
| 10 | Wall surface: exterior | 10 | 1.9% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 140 | 26.9% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Crestview mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 149 | 28.6% | |
| 2 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 47 | 9.0% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 47 | 9.0% | |
| 4 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 39 | 7.5% | |
| 5 | Hot ember or ash | 39 | 7.5% | |
| 6 | Lightning | 30 | 5.8% | |
| 7 | Cigarette lighter | 29 | 5.6% | |
| 8 | Heat source: other | 19 | 3.6% | |
| 9 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 17 | 3.3% | |
| 10 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 12 | 2.3% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 93 | 17.9% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Crestview departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 78% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,000,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 2 | $670,954 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 3 | $300,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 4 | $269,061 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 5 | $250,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 6 | $100,000 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $89,892 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $78,600 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Crestview sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
36 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 0 | |
| 20-29 | 6 | |
| 30-39 | 8 | |
| 40-49 | 8 | |
| 50-59 | 6 | |
| 60-69 | 2 | |
| 70-79 | 5 | |
| 80+ | 1 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 60,636 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 7,500 | 23.7 mi | |
| 2013 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5,100 | 25.0 mi | |
| 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4,930 | 22.9 mi | |
| 2003 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4,900 | 22.5 mi | |
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4,490 | 29.4 mi | |
| 2018 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,926 | 20.6 mi | |
| 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,800 | 22.1 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,765 | 21.2 mi | |
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,486 | 22.2 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,400 | 20.4 mi | |
| 2020 | Debris and open burning | 2,215 | 32.3 mi | |
| 2014 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,176 | 14.2 mi |
Top 10 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Florida cities with population within ±25% of Crestview. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
3 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Crestview.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.