Home› Maryland› Crownsville
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Crownsville, Maryland

In 2025, fire departments serving Crownsville responded to 72 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $20K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C Peak yr 2025 Anne Arundel County 1,363 residents 0 reporting departments 264 5-yr
Total incidents
72
+18.0% vs 2024
Building fires
3
Residential 67% Other 33%
Property loss
$49K
$28K structure · $21K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Power line down lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 61% of all calls.

72
Total Incidents
Power line down 15 20.8%
Electrical wiring/equipment problem, other 12 16.7%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 8 11.1%
Arcing, shorted electrical equipment 6 8.3%
Building fires 3 4.2%
All other categories 28 38.9%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Jun peaks. Dec dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 6
Feb 10
Mar 7
Apr 4
May 9
Jun 11
Jul 8
Aug 6
Sep 4
Oct 3
Nov 4
Dec 0
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Crownsville

264 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $620K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021* 16 —
2022 51 —
2023 64 +25.5%
2024 61 -4.7%
2025 72 +18.0%

* Well below Crownsville's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 3 building fires Crownsville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
43%
3
Cause undetermined
29%
2
Intentional / arson
0%
0
Equipment / heat source failure
14%
1
Under investigation
0%
0
Act of nature (lightning)
14%
1
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Crownsville?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 46 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 12 26.1%
2 Wildland, woods 6 13.0%
3 Outside area, other 5 10.9%
4 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 4 8.7%
5 Undetermined 4 8.7%
6 Vehicle area, other 3 6.5%
7 Laundry area, wash house (laundry) 2 4.3%
8 Exterior, exposed surface 2 4.3%
9 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 2 4.3%
10 Other 1 2.2%
11 All other areas 5 10.9%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Crownsville mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 23 50.0%
2 Arcing 7 15.2%
3 Heat from powered equipment, other 4 8.7%
4 Hot ember or ash 4 8.7%
5 Heat source: other 2 4.3%
6 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 2 4.3%
7 Lightning 2 4.3%
8 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 1 2.2%
9 Hot or smoldering object, other 1 2.2%
04 The biggest fires

3 fires · $28K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Crownsville departments in 2025. These 3 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $20,000 Mobile property (vehicle) fire, other Significant Investigated
2 $5,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
3 $3,283 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
05 How Crownsville compares

Crownsville vs Maryland vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Crownsville sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

52.82
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Crownsville
52.82
MD avg
8.27
US avg
7.48
2.2
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Crownsville
2.2
MD avg
1.06
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Crownsville
0
MD avg
2.7
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Crownsville

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 6,516 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2001 Arson/incendiarism 522 34.7 mi
2011 Recreation and ceremony 500 7.3 mi
2011 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 461 37.9 mi
2011 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 431 28.6 mi
2003 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 408 10.5 mi
2005 Arson/incendiarism 370 45.3 mi
2007 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 370 49.1 mi
1995 Arson/incendiarism 360 47.5 mi
2011 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 344 33.2 mi
2007 Debris and open burning 306 47.8 mi
1993 Arson/incendiarism 300 50.0 mi
1992 Arson/incendiarism 269 50.0 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Crownsville do fires concentrate?

Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 21032 264
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Crownsville

Six Maryland cities with population within ±25% of Crownsville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.