Home› Mississippi› Crystal Springs
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Crystal Springs, Mississippi

In 2025, fire departments serving Crystal Springs responded to 98 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $60K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C Peak yr 2023 Copiah County 4,820 residents 3 reporting departments 755 5-yr
Total incidents
98
-44.6% vs 2024
Building fires
25
Residential 64% Other 36%
Property loss
$352K
$183K structure · $169K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 65% of all calls.

98
Total Incidents
Building fires 25 25.5%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 16 16.3%
Passenger vehicle fire 9 9.2%
Trash or rubbish fire, contained 8 8.2%
Grass fire 6 6.1%
All other categories 34 34.7%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Mar peaks. Nov dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 9
Feb 8
Mar 24
Apr 8
May 3
Jun 9
Jul 2
Aug 11
Sep 13
Oct 11
Nov 0
Dec 0
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Crystal Springs

755 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $6.6M cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 130 —
2022* 73 —
2023 277 —
2024 177 -36.1%
2025 98 -44.6%

* Well below Crystal Springs's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 25 building fires Crystal Springs departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
52%
11
Cause undetermined
10%
2
Intentional / arson
10%
2
Equipment / heat source failure
14%
3
Under investigation
5%
1
Act of nature (lightning)
9%
2
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Crystal Springs?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 166 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 108 65.1%
2 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 18 10.8%
3 Cooking area, kitchen 10 6.0%
4 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 3 1.8%
5 Laundry area, wash house (laundry) 3 1.8%
6 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 3 1.8%
7 Attic: vacant, crawl space above top story, cupola 2 1.2%
8 Wall surface: exterior 2 1.2%
9 Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. 2 1.2%
10 Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles 2 1.2%
11 All other areas 13 7.8%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Crystal Springs mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 135 81.3%
2 Arcing 6 3.6%
3 Heat from powered equipment, other 3 1.8%
4 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 3 1.8%
5 Hot ember or ash 3 1.8%
6 Lightning 3 1.8%
7 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 2 1.2%
8 Hot or smoldering object, other 2 1.2%
9 Cigarette lighter 2 1.2%
10 Heat from direct flame, convection currents 2 1.2%
11 All other sources 5 3.0%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $182K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Crystal Springs departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 99% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $60,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
2 $50,000 Fires in structures other than in a building Significant Investigated
3 $30,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
4 $20,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
5 $15,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
6 $4,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
7 $2,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
8 $1,200 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
05 How Crystal Springs compares

Crystal Springs vs Mississippi vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Crystal Springs sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

20.33
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Crystal Springs
20.33
MS avg
16.75
US avg
7.48
5.19
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Crystal Springs
5.19
MS avg
2.71
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Crystal Springs
0
MS avg
22.2
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Crystal Springs

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 18,645 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
1996 Debris and open burning 4,152 23.8 mi
1996 Debris and open burning 4,109 43.4 mi
1993 Debris and open burning 1,200 46.1 mi
1994 Debris and open burning 1,001 37.7 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 682 43.8 mi
2002 Arson/incendiarism 623 41.3 mi
2007 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 622 40.5 mi
1992 Arson/incendiarism 550 10.9 mi
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 493 37.7 mi
1993 Arson/incendiarism 486 18.5 mi
2000 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 450 27.5 mi
2007 Arson/incendiarism 378 28.5 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Crystal Springs do fires concentrate?

Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 39059 755
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Crystal Springs

Six Mississippi cities with population within ±25% of Crystal Springs. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Crystal Springs?

3 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Crystal Springs.

Crystal Springs FD
26022 HWY 27 HWY
FDID 150013 paid · 40 volunteer
Crystal Springs VFD
26022 27 HWY
FDID 15013Volunteer
Hopewell VFD
1043 Hopewell RD
FDID 15004
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.