Home› Kentucky› Dawson Springs
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Dawson Springs, Kentucky

In 2025, fire departments serving Dawson Springs responded to 39 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $273K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade B- Peak yr 2025 Hopkins County 2,026 residents 0 reporting departments 162 5-yr
Total incidents
39
+18.2% vs 2024
Building fires
5
Residential 60% Other 40%
Property loss
$425K
$323K structure · $102K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 54% of all calls.

39
Total Incidents
Building fires 5 12.8%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 5 12.8%
Cooking fire, confined to container 4 10.3%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 4 10.3%
Passenger vehicle fire 3 7.7%
All other categories 18 46.2%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Apr peaks. Jun dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 4
Feb 4
Mar 4
Apr 8
May 3
Jun 0
Jul 2
Aug 4
Sep 0
Oct 3
Nov 3
Dec 4
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Dawson Springs

162 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $587K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 35 —
2022 32 -8.6%
2023 23 -28.1%
2024 33 +43.5%
2025 39 +18.2%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 5 building fires Dawson Springs departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
38%
3
Cause undetermined
0%
0
Intentional / arson
0%
0
Equipment / heat source failure
38%
3
Under investigation
12%
1
Act of nature (lightning)
12%
1
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Dawson Springs?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 32 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 15 46.9%
2 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 3 9.4%
3 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 2 6.2%
4 Laundry area, wash house (laundry) 2 6.2%
5 Duct: hvac, cable, exhaust, heating, or AC 2 6.2%
6 Wildland, woods 2 6.2%
7 Swimming pool 1 3.1%
8 Storage: supplies or tools; dead storage 1 3.1%
9 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 1 3.1%
10 Structural area, other 1 3.1%
11 All other areas 2 6.2%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Dawson Springs mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 22 68.8%
2 Heat source: other 2 6.2%
3 Heat from powered equipment, other 2 6.2%
4 Arcing 2 6.2%
5 Heat from other open flame or smoking materials 1 3.1%
6 Cigarette 1 3.1%
7 Candle 1 3.1%
8 Lightning 1 3.1%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $322K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Dawson Springs departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $273,000 Building fires Major Investigated
2 $17,500 Fire, other Significant Investigated
3 $15,000 Fires in structures other than in a building Significant Investigated
4 $10,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
5 $5,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
6 $500 Outside rubbish fire, other Significant Investigated
7 $500 Forest, woods or wildland fire Significant Investigated
8 $500 Fire, other Significant Investigated
05 How Dawson Springs compares

Dawson Springs vs Kentucky vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Dawson Springs sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

19.25
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Dawson Springs
19.25
KY avg
10.83
US avg
7.48
2.47
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Dawson Springs
2.47
KY avg
1.35
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Dawson Springs
0
KY avg
13.8
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Dawson Springs

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 12,487 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
1999 Arson/incendiarism 1,400 43.8 mi
2006 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,300 38.9 mi
2007 Debris and open burning 1,200 41.1 mi
2004 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,050 43.1 mi
2006 Natural 1,024 43.3 mi
2007 Debris and open burning 570 38.5 mi
2005 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 517 14.1 mi
2004 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 500 32.9 mi
2001 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 500 29.6 mi
2007 Debris and open burning 450 40.8 mi
2003 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 400 43.8 mi
2005 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 300 24.8 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Dawson Springs do fires concentrate?

Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 42408 162
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Dawson Springs

Six Kentucky cities with population within ±25% of Dawson Springs. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.