Home› Kansas› Garden Plain
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Garden Plain, Kansas

In 2025, fire departments serving Garden Plain responded to 11 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $100K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade B Peak yr 2024 Sedgwick County 1,059 residents 0 reporting departments 64 5-yr
Total incidents
11
-54.2% vs 2024
Building fires
0
Residential 67% Other 33%
Property loss
$105K
$105K structure · $0 contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 82% of all calls.

11
Total Incidents
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 4 36.4%
Road freight or transport vehicle fire 2 18.2%
Water vehicle fire 1 9.1%
Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire 1 9.1%
Grass fire 1 9.1%
All other categories 2 18.2%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Mar peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 0
Feb 1
Mar 2
Apr 1
May 0
Jun 2
Jul 1
Aug 0
Sep 2
Oct 1
Nov 1
Dec 0
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Garden Plain

64 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $213K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021* 0 —
2022 10 —
2023 19 +90.0%
2024 24 +26.3%
2025 11 -54.2%

* Well below Garden Plain's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 0 building fires Garden Plain departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
40%
2
Cause undetermined
20%
1
Intentional / arson
0%
0
Equipment / heat source failure
40%
2
Under investigation
0%
0
Act of nature (lightning)
0%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Garden Plain?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 21 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 4 19.0%
2 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 3 14.3%
3 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 3 14.3%
4 Undetermined 3 14.3%
5 Other 2 9.5%
6 Cooking area, kitchen 1 4.8%
7 Structural area, other 1 4.8%
8 Ceiling & floor assembly, crawl space b/t stories 1 4.8%
9 Vehicle area, other 1 4.8%
10 Outside area, other 1 4.8%
11 All other areas 1 4.8%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Garden Plain mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 10 47.6%
2 Heat, spark from friction 2 9.5%
3 Hot ember or ash 2 9.5%
4 Heat source: other 1 4.8%
5 Heat from powered equipment, other 1 4.8%
6 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 1 4.8%
7 Hot or smoldering object, other 1 4.8%
8 Molten, hot material 1 4.8%
9 Explosive, fireworks, other 1 4.8%
10 Lightning 1 4.8%
04 The biggest fires

3 fires · $105K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Garden Plain departments in 2025. These 3 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $100,000 Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire Significant Investigated
2 $4,000 Water vehicle fire Significant Investigated
3 $1,000 Road freight or transport vehicle fire Significant Investigated
05 How Garden Plain compares

Garden Plain vs Kansas vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Garden Plain sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

10.39
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Garden Plain
10.39
KS avg
9.65
US avg
7.48
0
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Garden Plain
0
KS avg
0.98
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Garden Plain
0
KS avg
8.5
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Garden Plain

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 100,098 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
1994 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 16,000 41.4 mi
2016 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 14,000 27.3 mi
2006 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 10,700 42.7 mi
2006 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 8,800 27.8 mi
2018 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 8,000 45.3 mi
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 6,400 15.4 mi
2002 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 6,000 46.6 mi
2020 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 4,945 29.3 mi
2012 Natural 3,800 47.6 mi
2016 Equipment and vehicle use 3,500 48.4 mi
2017 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,596 35.8 mi
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,000 48.3 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Garden Plain do fires concentrate?

Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 67050 64
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Garden Plain

Six Kansas cities with population within ±25% of Garden Plain. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.