Home› Idaho› Gooding
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Gooding, Idaho

In 2025, fire departments serving Gooding responded to 81 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $50K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C+ Peak yr 2022 Gooding County 3,673 residents 1 reporting departments 452 5-yr
Total incidents
81
-1.2% vs 2024
Building fires
6
Residential 67% Other 33%
Property loss
$252K
$201K structure · $51K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Authorized controlled burning lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 65% of all calls.

81
Total Incidents
Authorized controlled burning 17 21.0%
Power line down 14 17.3%
Passenger vehicle fire 9 11.1%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 7 8.6%
Building fires 6 7.4%
All other categories 28 34.6%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Jul peaks. Sep dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 4
Feb 6
Mar 6
Apr 10
May 5
Jun 5
Jul 19
Aug 5
Sep 2
Oct 3
Nov 4
Dec 12
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Gooding

452 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $5.3M cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 83 —
2022 145 +74.7%
2023 61 -57.9%
2024 82 +34.4%
2025 81 -1.2%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 6 building fires Gooding departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
35%
8
Cause undetermined
22%
5
Intentional / arson
9%
2
Equipment / heat source failure
26%
6
Under investigation
9%
2
Act of nature (lightning)
-1%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Gooding?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 129 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 23 17.8%
2 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 19 14.7%
3 Outside area, other 18 14.0%
4 Undetermined 18 14.0%
5 Other 10 7.8%
6 Vehicle area, other 6 4.7%
7 Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace 5 3.9%
8 Cooking area, kitchen 3 2.3%
9 Closet 3 2.3%
10 Attic: vacant, crawl space above top story, cupola 3 2.3%
11 All other areas 21 16.3%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Gooding mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 29 22.5%
2 Hot ember or ash 24 18.6%
3 Hot or smoldering object, other 15 11.6%
4 Heat from powered equipment, other 10 7.8%
5 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 8 6.2%
6 Heat source: other 7 5.4%
7 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 6 4.7%
8 Heat, spark from friction 6 4.7%
9 Arcing 5 3.9%
10 Molten, hot material 4 3.1%
11 All other sources 15 11.6%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $168K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Gooding departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 84% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $50,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
2 $30,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $28,000 Fire in motor home, camper, recreational vehicle Significant Investigated
4 $20,000 Mobile property (vehicle) fire, other Significant Investigated
5 $10,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
6 $10,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
7 $10,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
8 $10,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
05 How Gooding compares

Gooding vs Idaho vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Gooding sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

22.05
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Gooding
22.05
ID avg
8.39
US avg
7.48
1.63
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Gooding
1.63
ID avg
0.79
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Gooding
0
ID avg
4.4
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Gooding

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 2,035,296 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2010 Natural 306,113 47.8 mi
2012 Natural 210,874 37.0 mi
2005 Natural 192,846 45.5 mi
1996 Natural 178,459 32.7 mi
1992 Natural 149,250 42.0 mi
2013 Natural 129,730 48.4 mi
2013 Natural 111,497 37.0 mi
2019 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 67,069 42.5 mi
2018 Firearms and explosives use 64,763 46.4 mi
1995 Natural 64,193 47.4 mi
2006 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 61,929 40.7 mi
2017 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 49,912 18.7 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Gooding do fires concentrate?

Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 83330 452
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Gooding

Six Idaho cities with population within ±25% of Gooding. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Gooding?

1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Gooding.

Gooding Fire District
2155 Montana St ST
FDID 473011 paid
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.