In 2025, fire departments serving Grosse Pointe Farms responded to 47 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $100K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Grosse Pointe Farms's departments reported 47 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 84 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Power line down lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 79% of all calls.
Jun peaks. Oct dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
422 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $2.8M cumulative property loss. 1 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 63 | — | |
| 2022 | 86 | +36.5% | |
| 2023 | 155 | +80.2% | |
| 2024 | 71 | -54.2% | |
| 2025* | 47 | — |
* Well below Grosse Pointe Farms's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 2 building fires Grosse Pointe Farms departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 44 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 11 | 25.0% | |
| 2 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 4 | 9.1% | |
| 3 | Other | 3 | 6.8% | |
| 4 | Cooking area, kitchen | 3 | 6.8% | |
| 5 | Heating room or area, water heater area | 3 | 6.8% | |
| 6 | Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace | 3 | 6.8% | |
| 7 | Undetermined | 3 | 6.8% | |
| 8 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 2 | 4.5% | |
| 9 | Storage: supplies or tools; dead storage | 2 | 4.5% | |
| 10 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 2 | 4.5% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 8 | 18.2% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Grosse Pointe Farms mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 10 | 22.7% | |
| 2 | Arcing | 8 | 18.2% | |
| 3 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 7 | 15.9% | |
| 4 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 4 | 9.1% | |
| 5 | Flame/torch used for lighting | 3 | 6.8% | |
| 6 | Chemical reaction | 3 | 6.8% | |
| 7 | Heat source: other | 2 | 4.5% | |
| 8 | Fireworks | 2 | 4.5% | |
| 9 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 10 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 3 | 6.8% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Grosse Pointe Farms departments in 2025. These 1 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $100,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Grosse Pointe Farms sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 22 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 948 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | Debris and open burning | 300 | 32.1 mi | |
| 2019 | Equipment and vehicle use | 80 | 44.3 mi | |
| 2005 | Debris and open burning | 77 | 43.2 mi | |
| 2003 | Debris and open burning | 53 | 37.9 mi | |
| 2020 | Debris and open burning | 50 | 42.2 mi | |
| 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 49 | 18.5 mi | |
| 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | 42 | 29.4 mi | |
| 1994 | Recreation and ceremony | 38 | 42.4 mi | |
| 2003 | Equipment and vehicle use | 33 | 45.8 mi | |
| 1996 | Misuse of fire by a minor | 30 | 37.0 mi | |
| 2014 | Recreation and ceremony | 30 | 36.1 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 27 | 47.4 mi |
Top 5 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Michigan cities with population within ±25% of Grosse Pointe Farms. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Grosse Pointe Farms.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.