In 2025, fire departments serving Hallsville responded to 47 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $115K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Forest, woods or wildland fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 62% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Aug dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
181 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $758K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021* | 11 | — | |
| 2022* | 19 | — | |
| 2023 | 47 | — | |
| 2024 | 57 | +21.3% | |
| 2025 | 47 | -17.5% |
* Well below Hallsville's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 2 building fires Hallsville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 35 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 6 | 17.1% | |
| 2 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 5 | 14.3% | |
| 3 | Undetermined | 4 | 11.4% | |
| 4 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 3 | 8.6% | |
| 5 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 2 | 5.7% | |
| 6 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 2 | 5.7% | |
| 7 | Cooking area, kitchen | 2 | 5.7% | |
| 8 | Wall assembly | 2 | 5.7% | |
| 9 | Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles | 2 | 5.7% | |
| 10 | Corridor, mall | 1 | 2.9% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 6 | 17.1% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Hallsville mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 15 | 42.9% | |
| 2 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 6 | 17.1% | |
| 3 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 3 | 8.6% | |
| 4 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 2 | 5.7% | |
| 5 | Arcing | 2 | 5.7% | |
| 6 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 2 | 5.7% | |
| 7 | Hot ember or ash | 1 | 2.9% | |
| 8 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 1 | 2.9% | |
| 9 | Heat from undetermined smoking material | 1 | 2.9% | |
| 10 | Heat spread from another fire, other | 1 | 2.9% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 1 | 2.9% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Hallsville departments in 2025. These 2 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $115,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $15,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Hallsville sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
5 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 0 | |
| 20-29 | 4 | |
| 30-39 | 1 | |
| 40-49 | 0 | |
| 50-59 | 0 | |
| 60-69 | 0 | |
| 70-79 | 0 | |
| 80+ | 0 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 3,156 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 685 | 48.4 mi | |
| 2019 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 235 | 23.2 mi | |
| 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 185 | 49.7 mi | |
| 2002 | Equipment and vehicle use | 150 | 26.2 mi | |
| 1992 | Debris and open burning | 120 | 16.4 mi | |
| 1994 | Debris and open burning | 120 | 27.6 mi | |
| 2016 | Debris and open burning | 112 | 44.2 mi | |
| 1999 | Debris and open burning | 110 | 50.0 mi | |
| 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 105 | 47.6 mi | |
| 2018 | Debris and open burning | 103 | 28.4 mi | |
| 1999 | Debris and open burning | 100 | 40.3 mi | |
| 1994 | Debris and open burning | 100 | 21.4 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Missouri cities with population within ±25% of Hallsville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.