Ross Fire in North Texas Reaches 100% Containment After 90,000-Acre Run
The Ross Fire near Palo Pinto, Texas burned about 90,000 acres and destroyed at least 167 structures before crews fully contained it on Sept. 16.
In 2025, fire departments serving Highland Village responded to 96 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $200K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 63% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Dec dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
482 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $1.4M cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 82 | — | |
| 2022 | 91 | +11.0% | |
| 2023 | 102 | +12.1% | |
| 2024 | 111 | +8.8% | |
| 2025 | 96 | -13.5% |
For the 20 building fires Highland Village departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 58 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 11 | 19.0% | |
| 2 | Cooking area, kitchen | 7 | 12.1% | |
| 3 | Outside area, other | 5 | 8.6% | |
| 4 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 4 | 6.9% | |
| 5 | Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace | 4 | 6.9% | |
| 6 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 3 | 5.2% | |
| 7 | Wall assembly | 3 | 5.2% | |
| 8 | Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles | 3 | 5.2% | |
| 9 | Wildland, woods | 3 | 5.2% | |
| 10 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 2 | 3.4% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 13 | 22.4% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Highland Village mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 30 | 51.7% | |
| 2 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 6 | 10.3% | |
| 3 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 3 | 5.2% | |
| 4 | Heat source: other | 2 | 3.4% | |
| 5 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 2 | 3.4% | |
| 6 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 2 | 3.4% | |
| 7 | Molten, hot material | 2 | 3.4% | |
| 8 | Hot ember or ash | 2 | 3.4% | |
| 9 | Cigarette | 2 | 3.4% | |
| 10 | Lightning | 2 | 3.4% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 5 | 8.6% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Highland Village departments in 2025. These 7 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $200,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $150,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $50,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $5,000 | Chimney or flue fire, confined to chimney or flue | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $1,000 | Outside rubbish, trash or waste fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $500 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $300 | Outside equipment fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Highland Village sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 82,568 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 31,419 | 47.1 mi | |
| 1996 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 12,201 | 46.3 mi | |
| 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6,000 | 46.5 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5,600 | 46.0 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,600 | 29.3 mi | |
| 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,153 | 38.3 mi | |
| 2005 | Equipment and vehicle use | 2,000 | 47.8 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,000 | 42.2 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,000 | 25.0 mi | |
| 2011 | Debris and open burning | 1,900 | 40.8 mi | |
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,700 | 44.3 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,500 | 42.1 mi |
Top 4 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Texas cities with population within ±25% of Highland Village. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Highland Village.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.