Home› North Carolina› Holly Springs
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Holly Springs, North Carolina

In 2025, fire departments serving Holly Springs responded to 196 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $650K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade A Peak yr 2023 Wake County 42,023 residents 0 reporting departments 1,288 5-yr
Total incidents
196
-27.4% vs 2024
Building fires
21
Residential 67% Other 33%
Property loss
$1.8M
$1.6M structure · $207K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 1
0 civilian deaths · 1 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 56% of all calls.

196
Total Incidents
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 52 26.5%
Building fires 21 10.7%
Authorized controlled burning 14 7.1%
Arcing, shorted electrical equipment 12 6.1%
Cooking fire, confined to container 10 5.1%
All other categories 87 44.4%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Mar peaks. Sep dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 26
Feb 19
Mar 33
Apr 33
May 18
Jun 19
Jul 30
Aug 9
Sep 2
Oct 2
Nov 3
Dec 2
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Holly Springs

1,288 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $6.1M cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 254 —
2022 281 +10.6%
2023 287 +2.1%
2024 270 -5.9%
2025 196 -27.4%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 21 building fires Holly Springs departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
48%
19
Cause undetermined
30%
12
Intentional / arson
10%
4
Equipment / heat source failure
2%
1
Under investigation
5%
2
Act of nature (lightning)
5%
1
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Holly Springs?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 308 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Outside area, other 52 16.9%
2 Cooking area, kitchen 51 16.6%
3 Wildland, woods 25 8.1%
4 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 22 7.1%
5 Undetermined 22 7.1%
6 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 21 6.8%
7 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 17 5.5%
8 Exterior balcony, unenclosed porch 8 2.6%
9 Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace 8 2.6%
10 Other 7 2.3%
11 All other areas 75 24.4%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Holly Springs mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 127 41.2%
2 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 27 8.8%
3 Arcing 22 7.1%
4 Heat from powered equipment, other 20 6.5%
5 Hot ember or ash 19 6.2%
6 Cigarette 13 4.2%
7 Heat source: other 9 2.9%
8 Hot or smoldering object, other 7 2.3%
9 Fireworks 7 2.3%
10 Cigarette lighter 7 2.3%
11 All other sources 50 16.2%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $1.5M in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Holly Springs departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 98% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $650,000 Building fires Major Investigated
2 $400,000 Building fires Major Investigated
3 $300,000 Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire Major Investigated
4 $100,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
5 $50,000 Fire in mobile home used as fixed residence Significant Investigated
6 $25,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
7 $10,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
8 $6,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
05 How Holly Springs compares

Holly Springs vs North Carolina vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Holly Springs sits below the national average for incidents per resident.

4.66
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Holly Springs
4.66
NC avg
9.36
US avg
7.48
0.5
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Holly Springs
0.5
NC avg
1.35
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Holly Springs
0
NC avg
8.6
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Holly Springs

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 9,731 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,778 41.2 mi
2006 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 750 31.2 mi
1995 Arson/incendiarism 550 38.6 mi
1995 Equipment and vehicle use 500 35.1 mi
2000 Debris and open burning 500 33.3 mi
1993 Arson/incendiarism 400 48.8 mi
2000 Smoking 400 31.6 mi
2018 Recreation and ceremony 339 8.6 mi
1996 Railroad operations and maintenance 330 39.9 mi
1993 Arson/incendiarism 325 47.4 mi
2002 Debris and open burning 310 49.6 mi
2009 Arson/incendiarism 300 8.0 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Holly Springs do fires concentrate?

Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 27540 1,227
2 27539 60
3 27546 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Holly Springs

Six North Carolina cities with population within ±25% of Holly Springs. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.