Home› Kansas› Holton
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Holton, Kansas

In 2025, fire departments serving Holton responded to 27 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $75K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade A- Peak yr 2022 Jackson County 3,386 residents 2 reporting departments 121 5-yr
Total incidents
27
Not comparable with 2024 (incomplete reporting)
Building fires
7
Residential 57% Other 43%
Property loss
$75K
$75K structure · $0 contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 70% of all calls.

27
Total Incidents
Building fires 7 25.9%
Grass fire 5 18.5%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 3 11.1%
Fire, other 2 7.4%
Passenger vehicle fire 2 7.4%
All other categories 8 29.6%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Mar peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 0
Feb 4
Mar 7
Apr 3
May 1
Jun 2
Jul 2
Aug 0
Sep 0
Oct 4
Nov 2
Dec 2
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Holton

121 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $295K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 16 —
2022 49 +206.2%
2023 21 -57.1%
2024* 8 —
2025 27 —

* Well below Holton's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 7 building fires Holton departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
100%
8
Cause undetermined
0%
0
Intentional / arson
0%
0
Equipment / heat source failure
0%
0
Under investigation
0%
0
Act of nature (lightning)
0%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Holton?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 64 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 19 29.7%
2 Outside area, other 10 15.6%
3 Undetermined 10 15.6%
4 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 5 7.8%
5 Exterior, exposed surface 4 6.2%
6 Other 3 4.7%
7 Cooking area, kitchen 3 4.7%
8 Wildland, woods 2 3.1%
9 Assembly area - less than 100 persons 1 1.6%
10 Storage area, other 1 1.6%
11 All other areas 6 9.4%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Holton mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 19 29.7%
2 Hot or smoldering object, other 10 15.6%
3 Flying brand, ember, spark 9 14.1%
4 Hot ember or ash 6 9.4%
5 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 4 6.2%
6 Heat from powered equipment, other 3 4.7%
7 Heat, spark from friction 3 4.7%
8 Heat source: other 2 3.1%
9 Arcing 2 3.1%
10 Conducted heat from another fire 2 3.1%
11 All other sources 4 6.2%
04 The biggest fires

1 fires · $75K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Holton departments in 2025. These 1 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $75,000 Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire Significant Investigated
05 How Holton compares

Holton vs Kansas vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Holton sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

7.97
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Holton
7.97
KS avg
9.65
US avg
7.48
2.07
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Holton
2.07
KS avg
0.98
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Holton
0
KS avg
8.5
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Holton

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 60,099 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
1996 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 12,000 30.4 mi
2005 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 8,000 25.1 mi
2004 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 7,000 36.8 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 4,000 47.5 mi
2018 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 3,200 44.2 mi
2020 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 3,000 22.7 mi
1996 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,288 47.5 mi
2005 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,800 31.0 mi
2017 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,800 31.6 mi
2011 Debris and open burning 1,700 12.3 mi
1994 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,600 30.4 mi
2018 Debris and open burning 1,500 43.1 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Holton do fires concentrate?

Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 66436 120
2 66440 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Holton

Six Kansas cities with population within ±25% of Holton. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Holton?

2 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Holton.

Holton Fire Department
301 W 4th ST
FDID JA2014 paid · 48 volunteer
JACKSON COUNTY RURAL FIRE DIST4
301 W 4th ST
FDID JA4104 paid · 48 volunteer
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.