In 2025, fire departments serving Howell responded to 319 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 53% of all calls.
Feb peaks. Dec dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
1,147 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $45K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 159 | — | |
| 2022* | 110 | — | |
| 2023* | 91 | — | |
| 2024 | 468 | — | |
| 2025 | 319 | -31.8% |
* Well below Howell's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 46 building fires Howell departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 133 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 35 | 26.3% | |
| 2 | Outside area, other | 20 | 15.0% | |
| 3 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 16 | 12.0% | |
| 4 | Vehicle area, other | 10 | 7.5% | |
| 5 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 8 | 6.0% | |
| 6 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 6 | 4.5% | |
| 7 | Cooking area, kitchen | 5 | 3.8% | |
| 8 | Wildland, woods | 5 | 3.8% | |
| 9 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 4 | 3.0% | |
| 10 | Storage area, other | 3 | 2.3% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 21 | 15.8% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Howell mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 78 | 58.6% | |
| 2 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 11 | 8.3% | |
| 3 | Heat, spark from friction | 9 | 6.8% | |
| 4 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 8 | 6.0% | |
| 5 | Arcing | 5 | 3.8% | |
| 6 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 4 | 3.0% | |
| 7 | Hot ember or ash | 4 | 3.0% | |
| 8 | Heat source: other | 2 | 1.5% | |
| 9 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 2 | 1.5% | |
| 10 | Cigarette | 2 | 1.5% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 8 | 6.0% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Howell sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
8 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 2 | |
| 10-19 | 0 | |
| 20-29 | 1 | |
| 30-39 | 2 | |
| 40-49 | 1 | |
| 50-59 | 1 | |
| 60-69 | 0 | |
| 70-79 | 0 | |
| 80+ | 0 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 104,729 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1995 | Arson/incendiarism | 19,225 | 19.5 mi | |
| 2007 | Arson/incendiarism | 17,050 | 33.3 mi | |
| 1999 | Equipment and vehicle use | 11,765 | 35.6 mi | |
| 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 11,638 | 31.4 mi | |
| 1992 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5,284 | 24.1 mi | |
| 1992 | Arson/incendiarism | 4,832 | 24.6 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3,577 | 41.9 mi | |
| 1992 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,900 | 28.7 mi | |
| 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,730 | 16.1 mi | |
| 2002 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,600 | 19.0 mi | |
| 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,450 | 41.7 mi | |
| 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,300 | 19.9 mi |
Top 4 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six New Jersey cities with population within ±25% of Howell. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
3 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Howell.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.