In 2025, fire departments serving Imboden responded to 42 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $20K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Grass fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 74% of all calls.
Feb peaks. Jul dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
167 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $365K cumulative property loss. 1 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 30 | — | |
| 2022 | 31 | +3.3% | |
| 2023 | 25 | -19.4% | |
| 2024 | 39 | +56.0% | |
| 2025 | 42 | +7.7% |
For the 2 building fires Imboden departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 111 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 52 | 46.8% | |
| 2 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 28 | 25.2% | |
| 3 | Wildland, woods | 8 | 7.2% | |
| 4 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 6 | 5.4% | |
| 5 | Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles | 2 | 1.8% | |
| 6 | Outside area, other | 2 | 1.8% | |
| 7 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 2 | 1.8% | |
| 8 | Entrance way, lobby | 1 | 0.9% | |
| 9 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 1 | 0.9% | |
| 10 | Dining room, cafeteria bar area, beverage service | 1 | 0.9% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 8 | 7.2% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Imboden mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 71 | 64.0% | |
| 2 | Cigarette lighter | 12 | 10.8% | |
| 3 | Flying brand, ember, spark | 9 | 8.1% | |
| 4 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 6 | 5.4% | |
| 5 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 2 | 1.8% | |
| 6 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 2 | 1.8% | |
| 7 | Match | 2 | 1.8% | |
| 8 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 2 | 1.8% | |
| 9 | Heat source: other | 1 | 0.9% | |
| 10 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 1 | 0.9% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 3 | 2.7% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Imboden departments in 2025. These 1 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $20,000 | Fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Imboden sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 15,378 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 3,521 | 49.9 mi | |
| 1995 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,200 | 49.8 mi | |
| 1997 | Arson/incendiarism | 780 | 47.4 mi | |
| 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 776 | 49.7 mi | |
| 2002 | Arson/incendiarism | 709 | 39.3 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 680 | 42.2 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 666 | 42.5 mi | |
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 587 | 33.2 mi | |
| 1992 | Arson/incendiarism | 518 | 39.9 mi | |
| 2001 | Arson/incendiarism | 500 | 42.1 mi | |
| 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 472 | 48.4 mi | |
| 1997 | Debris and open burning | 460 | 37.0 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Arkansas cities with population within ±25% of Imboden. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.