In 2025, fire departments serving Mammoth Spring responded to 20 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $50K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 85% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Apr dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
121 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $1.3M cumulative property loss. 2 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 16 | — | |
| 2022 | 17 | +6.2% | |
| 2023 | 36 | +111.8% | |
| 2024 | 32 | -11.1% | |
| 2025 | 20 | -37.5% |
For the 6 building fires Mammoth Spring departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 63 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 19 | 30.2% | |
| 2 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 15 | 23.8% | |
| 3 | Outside area, other | 4 | 6.3% | |
| 4 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 4 | 6.3% | |
| 5 | Vehicle area, other | 3 | 4.8% | |
| 6 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 3 | 4.8% | |
| 7 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 2 | 3.2% | |
| 8 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 2 | 3.2% | |
| 9 | Attic: vacant, crawl space above top story, cupola | 2 | 3.2% | |
| 10 | Cooking area, kitchen | 1 | 1.6% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 8 | 12.7% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Mammoth Spring mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 28 | 44.4% | |
| 2 | Hot ember or ash | 12 | 19.0% | |
| 3 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 5 | 7.9% | |
| 4 | Cigarette | 4 | 6.3% | |
| 5 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 3 | 4.8% | |
| 6 | Arcing | 2 | 3.2% | |
| 7 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 2 | 3.2% | |
| 8 | Match | 2 | 3.2% | |
| 9 | Heat source: other | 1 | 1.6% | |
| 10 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 1 | 1.6% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 3 | 4.8% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Mammoth Spring departments in 2025. These 4 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $50,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $30,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $2,500 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $2,500 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Mammoth Spring sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 22,087 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 3,521 | 32.8 mi | |
| 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,460 | 36.9 mi | |
| 2018 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,365 | 40.8 mi | |
| 1995 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,200 | 34.1 mi | |
| 2012 | Natural | 1,126 | 39.5 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 956 | 47.4 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 928 | 37.0 mi | |
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 911 | 40.7 mi | |
| 1996 | Arson/incendiarism | 800 | 37.7 mi | |
| 2003 | Arson/incendiarism | 800 | 37.6 mi | |
| 1997 | Arson/incendiarism | 780 | 26.8 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 740 | 49.8 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Arkansas cities with population within ±25% of Mammoth Spring. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
2 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Mammoth Spring.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.