Home› Kansas› Maple Hill
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Maple Hill, Kansas

In 2025, fire departments serving Maple Hill responded to 27 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $150K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C Peak yr 2023 Wabaunsee County 572 residents 1 reporting departments 150 5-yr
Total incidents
27
-25.0% vs 2024
Building fires
0
Residential 67% Other 33%
Property loss
$305K
$155K structure · $150K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Grass fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 89% of all calls.

27
Total Incidents
Grass fire 15 55.6%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 4 14.8%
Road freight or transport vehicle fire 3 11.1%
Fire, other 1 3.7%
Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire 1 3.7%
All other categories 3 11.1%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Mar peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 3
Feb 0
Mar 6
Apr 6
May 3
Jun 0
Jul 1
Aug 0
Sep 0
Oct 2
Nov 2
Dec 4
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Maple Hill

150 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $382K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 24 —
2022 25 +4.2%
2023 38 +52.0%
2024 36 -5.3%
2025 27 -25.0%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 0 building fires Maple Hill departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
43%
3
Cause undetermined
0%
0
Intentional / arson
14%
1
Equipment / heat source failure
29%
2
Under investigation
0%
0
Act of nature (lightning)
14%
1
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Maple Hill?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 40 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 13 32.5%
2 Outside area, other 6 15.0%
3 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 5 12.5%
4 Undetermined 5 12.5%
5 Wildland, woods 2 5.0%
6 Other 1 2.5%
7 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 1 2.5%
8 Equipment or service area, other 1 2.5%
9 Structural area, other 1 2.5%
10 Attic: vacant, crawl space above top story, cupola 1 2.5%
11 All other areas 4 10.0%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Maple Hill mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 13 32.5%
2 Heat spread from another fire, other 5 12.5%
3 Heat source: other 3 7.5%
4 Hot ember or ash 3 7.5%
5 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 2 5.0%
6 Hot or smoldering object, other 2 5.0%
7 Lightning 2 5.0%
8 Flying brand, ember, spark 2 5.0%
9 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 1 2.5%
10 Arcing 1 2.5%
11 All other sources 6 15.0%
04 The biggest fires

2 fires · $155K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Maple Hill departments in 2025. These 2 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $150,000 Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire Significant Investigated
2 $5,000 Fire, other Significant Investigated
05 How Maple Hill compares

Maple Hill vs Kansas vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Maple Hill sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

47.2
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Maple Hill
47.2
KS avg
9.65
US avg
7.48
0
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Maple Hill
0
KS avg
0.98
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Maple Hill
0
KS avg
8.5
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Maple Hill

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 110,051 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
1996 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 12,000 2.2 mi
2012 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 8,000 46.3 mi
2005 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 8,000 18.7 mi
2004 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 7,000 29.7 mi
2013 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 6,500 40.2 mi
2015 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 6,289 41.1 mi
2012 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 6,278 44.2 mi
1994 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 5,000 32.6 mi
2016 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 5,000 38.2 mi
2009 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 4,800 42.6 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 4,500 45.0 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 4,000 42.4 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Maple Hill do fires concentrate?

Top 7 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 66507 142
2 66420 2
3 66615 2
4 63764 1
5 66423 1
6 66501 1
7 66526 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Maple Hill

Six Kansas cities with population within ±25% of Maple Hill. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Maple Hill?

1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Maple Hill.

Wabaunsee County Fire Dist4
203 Main ST
FDID WB305Volunteer
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.