Home› Mississippi› Mount Olive
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Mount Olive, Mississippi

In 2025, fire departments serving Mount Olive responded to 103 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $15K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C- Peak yr 2024 Covington County 1,405 residents 0 reporting departments 342 5-yr
Total incidents
103
-14.2% vs 2024
Building fires
24
Residential 67% Other 33%
Property loss
$78K
$65K structure · $13K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Forest, woods or wildland fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 89% of all calls.

103
Total Incidents
Forest, woods or wildland fire 34 33.0%
Building fires 24 23.3%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 14 13.6%
Grass fire 13 12.6%
Passenger vehicle fire 7 6.8%
All other categories 11 10.7%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Mar peaks. Jun dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 16
Feb 14
Mar 18
Apr 9
May 3
Jun 2
Jul 3
Aug 11
Sep 6
Oct 14
Nov 5
Dec 2
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Mount Olive

342 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $533K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021* 25 —
2022* 6 —
2023 88 —
2024 120 +36.4%
2025 103 -14.2%

* Well below Mount Olive's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 24 building fires Mount Olive departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
12%
3
Cause undetermined
88%
21
Intentional / arson
0%
0
Equipment / heat source failure
0%
0
Under investigation
0%
0
Act of nature (lightning)
0%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Mount Olive?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 76 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 64 84.2%
2 Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge 3 3.9%
3 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 2 2.6%
4 Exterior balcony, unenclosed porch 2 2.6%
5 Egress/exit, other 1 1.3%
6 Bathroom, checkroom, lavatory, locker room 1 1.3%
7 Wall assembly 1 1.3%
8 Exterior, exposed surface 1 1.3%
9 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 1 1.3%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Mount Olive mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 70 92.1%
2 Match 2 2.6%
3 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 1 1.3%
4 Arcing 1 1.3%
5 Heat, spark from friction 1 1.3%
6 Hot ember or ash 1 1.3%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $59K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Mount Olive departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 90% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $15,000 Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire Significant Investigated
2 $15,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $10,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
4 $5,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
5 $4,500 Building fires Significant Investigated
6 $3,500 Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire Significant Investigated
7 $3,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
8 $2,500 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
05 How Mount Olive compares

Mount Olive vs Mississippi vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Mount Olive sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

73.31
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Mount Olive
73.31
MS avg
16.75
US avg
7.48
17.08
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Mount Olive
17.08
MS avg
2.71
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Mount Olive
0
MS avg
22.2
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Mount Olive

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 16,770 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
1995 Debris and open burning 4,212 47.2 mi
1994 Debris and open burning 1,001 6.4 mi
2000 Arson/incendiarism 801 49.1 mi
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 800 45.0 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 682 24.0 mi
2002 Arson/incendiarism 623 45.6 mi
2016 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 600 34.1 mi
2019 Debris and open burning 599 45.4 mi
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 575 43.1 mi
1992 Arson/incendiarism 550 33.7 mi
2016 Arson/incendiarism 507 40.7 mi
2006 Debris and open burning 506 34.9 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Mount Olive do fires concentrate?

Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 39119 342
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Mount Olive

Six Mississippi cities with population within ±25% of Mount Olive. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.