Home› Washington› Othello
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Othello, Washington

In 2025, fire departments serving Othello responded to 179 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $10K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade B- Peak yr 2025 Adams County 8,582 residents 2 reporting departments 780 5-yr
Total incidents
179
+11.2% vs 2024
Building fires
10
Residential 60% Other 40%
Property loss
$13K
$12K structure · $1K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 59% of all calls.

179
Total Incidents
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 42 23.5%
Attempted burning, illegal action, other 27 15.1%
Authorized controlled burning 15 8.4%
Mobile property (vehicle) fire, other 12 6.7%
Building fires 10 5.6%
All other categories 73 40.8%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Jun peaks. Dec dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 6
Feb 9
Mar 17
Apr 15
May 14
Jun 33
Jul 25
Aug 19
Sep 17
Oct 11
Nov 8
Dec 5
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Othello

780 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $193K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 125 —
2022 176 +40.8%
2023 139 -21.0%
2024 161 +15.8%
2025 179 +11.2%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 10 building fires Othello departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
77%
65
Cause undetermined
0%
0
Intentional / arson
6%
5
Equipment / heat source failure
1%
1
Under investigation
8%
7
Act of nature (lightning)
8%
6
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Othello?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 445 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Outside area, other 224 50.3%
2 Other 37 8.3%
3 Vehicle area, other 33 7.4%
4 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 33 7.4%
5 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 23 5.2%
6 Undetermined 15 3.4%
7 Structural area, other 13 2.9%
8 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 8 1.8%
9 Cooking area, kitchen 7 1.6%
10 Storage area, other 7 1.6%
11 All other areas 45 10.1%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Othello mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 154 34.6%
2 Heat source: other 84 18.9%
3 Hot or smoldering object, other 27 6.1%
4 Heat spread from another fire, other 23 5.2%
5 Heat from powered equipment, other 19 4.3%
6 Explosive, fireworks, other 19 4.3%
7 Heat from other open flame or smoking materials 16 3.6%
8 Heat, spark from friction 14 3.1%
9 Arcing 12 2.7%
10 Multiple heat sources including multiple ignitions 11 2.5%
11 All other sources 66 14.8%
04 The biggest fires

2 fires · $12K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Othello departments in 2025. These 2 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $10,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
2 $2,000 Special outside fire, other Significant Investigated
05 How Othello compares

Othello vs Washington vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Othello sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

20.86
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Othello
20.86
WA avg
8.31
US avg
7.48
1.17
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Othello
1.17
WA avg
0.69
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Othello
0
WA avg
4.4
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Othello

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 913,826 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2016 Equipment and vehicle use 171,915 46.8 mi
2000 Equipment and vehicle use 163,884 33.6 mi
2007 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 72,641 39.3 mi
1996 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 57,520 38.8 mi
2009 Natural 48,902 44.5 mi
2019 Recreation and ceremony 41,748 33.1 mi
2017 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 30,648 39.2 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 25,000 39.2 mi
2005 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 25,000 45.2 mi
2020 Natural 24,892 46.1 mi
2017 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 24,650 39.7 mi
2019 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 22,672 34.8 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Othello do fires concentrate?

Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 99344 778
2 99327 1
3 99377 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Othello

Six Washington cities with population within ±25% of Othello. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Othello?

2 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Othello.

Othello Fire Dept
230 Broadway ST S
FDID 01M024 paid · 1 volunteer
Adams Co FD5 Othello
220 Broadway ST S
FDID 01D054 paid
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.