Home› Ohio› Painesville
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Painesville, Ohio

In 2025, fire departments serving Painesville responded to 168 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $1.0M building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade B- Peak yr 2022 Lake County 20,387 residents 0 reporting departments 1,200 5-yr
Total incidents
168
-25.3% vs 2024
Building fires
57
Residential 67% Other 33%
Property loss
$1.8M
$1.6M structure · $135K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 3
0 civilian deaths · 2 civ injuries · 1 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 67% of all calls.

168
Total Incidents
Building fires 57 33.9%
Unauthorized burning 20 11.9%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 17 10.1%
Power line down 12 7.1%
Carbon monoxide incident 7 4.2%
All other categories 55 32.7%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Mar peaks. Aug dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 16
Feb 5
Mar 27
Apr 27
May 13
Jun 5
Jul 23
Aug 2
Sep 24
Oct 7
Nov 8
Dec 11
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Painesville

1,200 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $3.4M cumulative property loss. 2 civilian deaths.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 278 —
2022 280 +0.7%
2023 249 -11.1%
2024 225 -9.6%
2025 168 -25.3%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 57 building fires Painesville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
57%
21
Cause undetermined
19%
7
Intentional / arson
5%
2
Equipment / heat source failure
11%
4
Under investigation
8%
3
Act of nature (lightning)
0%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Painesville?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 238 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Cooking area, kitchen 66 27.7%
2 Outside area, other 34 14.3%
3 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 12 5.0%
4 Chute/container - trash, rubbish, waste 10 4.2%
5 Undetermined 10 4.2%
6 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 9 3.8%
7 Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace 9 3.8%
8 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 7 2.9%
9 Processing/manufacturing area, workroom 7 2.9%
10 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 7 2.9%
11 All other areas 67 28.2%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Painesville mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 84 35.3%
2 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 55 23.1%
3 Arcing 16 6.7%
4 Hot ember or ash 13 5.5%
5 Cigarette 13 5.5%
6 Heat from powered equipment, other 9 3.8%
7 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 8 3.4%
8 Hot or smoldering object, other 6 2.5%
9 Heat from other open flame or smoking materials 6 2.5%
10 Cigarette lighter 5 2.1%
11 All other sources 23 9.7%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $1.6M in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Painesville departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 99% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $1,000,000 Building fires Major Investigated
2 $500,000 Building fires Major Investigated
3 $50,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
4 $50,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
5 $15,600 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
6 $5,500 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
7 $5,500 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
8 $5,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
05 How Painesville compares

Painesville vs Ohio vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Painesville sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

8.24
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Painesville
8.24
OH avg
11.06
US avg
7.48
2.8
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Painesville
2.8
OH avg
1.94
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Painesville
0
OH avg
10.3
US avg
5.9
5b Who gets hurt

Casualty demographics in Painesville

26 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.

AgeCount 
0-9 1
10-19 0
20-29 7
30-39 6
40-49 4
50-59 4
60-69 4
70-79 0
80+ 0
Civilian vs firefighter
Civilian 19 FF 7
Gender
M 21 F 5 Unk 0
Severity (1=minor → 5=fatal)
17
1
3
2
0
3
3
4
3
5
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Painesville

Top 2 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 420 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2003 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 400 5.8 mi
2002 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 20 6.9 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Painesville do fires concentrate?

Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 44077 1,198
2 44081 2
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Painesville

Six Ohio cities with population within ±25% of Painesville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.