Red Flag Warnings Blanket Five Northern Rockies and Plains States
Critical fire weather triggered Red Flag Warnings across Montana, Wyoming, Idaho, and the Dakotas on Sept. 10, capping an active season in the region.
In 2025, fire departments serving Park River responded to 12 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Cooking fire, confined to container lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 75% of all calls.
Jul peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
72 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $350 cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 22 | — | |
| 2022 | 10 | -54.5% | |
| 2023* | 7 | — | |
| 2024 | 21 | — | |
| 2025 | 12 | -42.9% |
* Well below Park River's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 1 building fires Park River departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 42 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 12 | 28.6% | |
| 2 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 9 | 21.4% | |
| 3 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 8 | 19.0% | |
| 4 | Vehicle area, other | 4 | 9.5% | |
| 5 | Cooking area, kitchen | 3 | 7.1% | |
| 6 | Undetermined | 2 | 4.8% | |
| 7 | Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles | 1 | 2.4% | |
| 8 | Exterior, exposed surface | 1 | 2.4% | |
| 9 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 1 | 2.4% | |
| 10 | Wildland, woods | 1 | 2.4% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Park River mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 17 | 40.5% | |
| 2 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 8 | 19.0% | |
| 3 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 4 | 9.5% | |
| 4 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 4 | 9.5% | |
| 5 | Heat spread from another fire, other | 3 | 7.1% | |
| 6 | Heat source: other | 2 | 4.8% | |
| 7 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 1 | 2.4% | |
| 8 | Arcing | 1 | 2.4% | |
| 9 | Heat from undetermined smoking material | 1 | 2.4% | |
| 10 | Match | 1 | 2.4% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Park River sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 20,849 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2002 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5,500 | 25.0 mi | |
| 2018 | Debris and open burning | 2,000 | 38.3 mi | |
| 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,772 | 36.5 mi | |
| 2018 | Debris and open burning | 1,440 | 44.9 mi | |
| 1999 | Debris and open burning | 1,320 | 36.5 mi | |
| 2018 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,081 | 39.3 mi | |
| 2018 | Debris and open burning | 800 | 44.9 mi | |
| 2002 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 700 | 28.8 mi | |
| 1998 | Arson/incendiarism | 660 | 40.4 mi | |
| 2017 | Debris and open burning | 513 | 39.6 mi | |
| 1998 | Arson/incendiarism | 480 | 39.7 mi | |
| 2015 | Equipment and vehicle use | 471 | 37.2 mi |
Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
| # | ZIP | 5-yr incidents | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 58270 | 72 |
Six North Dakota cities with population within ±25% of Park River. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
2 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Park River.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.