Senators Warn Federal Firefighting Budget Nearly Exhausted With Fire Season Not Over
Five senators told Interior and USDA the $6 billion FY2026 fire suppression budget was nearly spent by Sept. 2, citing staffing gaps and firefighter deaths.
In 2025, fire departments serving Poncha Springs responded to 20 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $5K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 75% of all calls.
Dec peaks. Jun dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
78 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $5K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 16 | — | |
| 2022 | 25 | +56.2% | |
| 2023* | 1 | — | |
| 2024 | 16 | — | |
| 2025 | 20 | +25.0% |
* Well below Poncha Springs's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 2 building fires Poncha Springs departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 21 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 6 | 28.6% | |
| 2 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 2 | 9.5% | |
| 3 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 2 | 9.5% | |
| 4 | Undetermined | 2 | 9.5% | |
| 5 | Other | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 6 | Cooking area, kitchen | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 7 | Processing/manufacturing area, workroom | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 8 | Storage area, other | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 9 | Attic: vacant, crawl space above top story, cupola | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 10 | Vehicle area, other | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 3 | 14.3% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Poncha Springs mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 6 | 28.6% | |
| 2 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 3 | 14.3% | |
| 3 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 3 | 14.3% | |
| 4 | Hot ember or ash | 2 | 9.5% | |
| 5 | Heat source: other | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 6 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 7 | Heat, spark from friction | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 8 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 9 | Chemical reaction | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 10 | Lightning | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 1 | 4.8% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Poncha Springs departments in 2025. These 1 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $5,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Poncha Springs sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 73,623 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | Natural | 16,562 | 20.9 mi | |
| 2018 | Natural | 13,023 | 37.4 mi | |
| 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 8,959 | 8.7 mi | |
| 2000 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 6,600 | 15.2 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5,000 | 32.1 mi | |
| 2002 | Recreation and ceremony | 4,439 | 35.4 mi | |
| 2011 | Recreation and ceremony | 4,000 | 29.2 mi | |
| 2013 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3,218 | 40.5 mi | |
| 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,423 | 47.3 mi | |
| 2013 | Natural | 1,152 | 10.5 mi | |
| 2008 | Natural | 1,115 | 43.4 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,100 | 46.3 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Colorado cities with population within ±25% of Poncha Springs. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.