Home› Kansas› Prairie Village
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Prairie Village, Kansas

In 2025, fire departments serving Prairie Village responded to 206 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $300K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade A- Peak yr 2025 Johnson County 22,922 residents 1 reporting departments 419 5-yr
Total incidents
206
Not comparable with 2024 (incomplete reporting)
Building fires
23
Residential 65% Other 35%
Property loss
$834K
$585K structure · $250K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 1
0 civilian deaths · 1 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 71% of all calls.

206
Total Incidents
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 45 21.8%
Power line down 43 20.9%
Arcing, shorted electrical equipment 25 12.1%
Building fires 23 11.2%
Electrical wiring/equipment problem, other 10 4.9%
All other categories 60 29.1%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Jun peaks. Apr dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 16
Feb 6
Mar 13
Apr 4
May 34
Jun 36
Jul 27
Aug 22
Sep 5
Oct 8
Nov 22
Dec 13
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Prairie Village

419 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $768K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 160 —
2022* 13 —
2023* 25 —
2024* 15 —
2025 206 —

* Well below Prairie Village's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 23 building fires Prairie Village departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
61%
14
Cause undetermined
22%
5
Intentional / arson
4%
1
Equipment / heat source failure
4%
1
Under investigation
0%
0
Act of nature (lightning)
9%
1
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Prairie Village?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 45 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Outside area, other 8 17.8%
2 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 4 8.9%
3 Cooking area, kitchen 3 6.7%
4 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 3 6.7%
5 Exterior balcony, unenclosed porch 3 6.7%
6 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 3 6.7%
7 Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace 3 6.7%
8 Other 2 4.4%
9 Wall surface: exterior 2 4.4%
10 Undetermined 2 4.4%
11 All other areas 12 26.7%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Prairie Village mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 14 31.1%
2 Arcing 12 26.7%
3 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 3 6.7%
4 Hot or smoldering object, other 3 6.7%
5 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 2 4.4%
6 Heat from powered equipment, other 1 2.2%
7 Hot ember or ash 1 2.2%
8 Heat from undetermined smoking material 1 2.2%
9 Match 1 2.2%
10 Cigarette lighter 1 2.2%
11 All other sources 6 13.3%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $558K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Prairie Village departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 95% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $300,000 Building fires Major Investigated
2 $127,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $50,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
4 $25,000 Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire Significant Investigated
5 $25,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
6 $20,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
7 $6,000 Grass fire Significant Investigated
8 $5,000 Arcing, shorted electrical equipment Significant Investigated
05 How Prairie Village compares

Prairie Village vs Kansas vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Prairie Village sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

8.99
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Prairie Village
8.99
KS avg
9.65
US avg
7.48
1
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Prairie Village
1
KS avg
0.98
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Prairie Village
0
KS avg
8.5
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Prairie Village

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 11,270 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2009 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 900 36.7 mi
2009 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 800 29.7 mi
2012 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 800 33.6 mi
2007 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 800 17.5 mi
2016 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 750 48.6 mi
2018 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 750 30.0 mi
2018 Arson/incendiarism 667 41.4 mi
1999 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 500 47.4 mi
2015 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 450 35.6 mi
2005 Debris and open burning 429 48.6 mi
2017 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 412 44.5 mi
2015 Debris and open burning 400 33.2 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Prairie Village do fires concentrate?

Top 6 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 66208 341
2 66207 56
3 66206 15
4 66202 5
5 66204 1
6 66205 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Prairie Village

Six Kansas cities with population within ±25% of Prairie Village. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Prairie Village?

1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Prairie Village.

Consolidated Fire District No
3921 63 ST
FDID JO41966 paid
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.