In 2025, fire departments serving Princess Anne responded to 87 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $5K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 55% of all calls.
Sep peaks. Jun dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
520 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $10K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 117 | — | |
| 2022 | 110 | -6.0% | |
| 2023 | 70 | -36.4% | |
| 2024 | 136 | +94.3% | |
| 2025 | 87 | -36.0% |
For the 17 building fires Princess Anne departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 120 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 103 | 85.8% | |
| 2 | Other | 3 | 2.5% | |
| 3 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 3 | 2.5% | |
| 4 | Structural area, other | 2 | 1.7% | |
| 5 | Vehicle area, other | 2 | 1.7% | |
| 6 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 1 | 0.8% | |
| 7 | Ceiling & floor assembly, crawl space b/t stories | 1 | 0.8% | |
| 8 | Wall assembly | 1 | 0.8% | |
| 9 | Exterior, exposed surface | 1 | 0.8% | |
| 10 | Outside area, other | 1 | 0.8% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 2 | 1.7% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Princess Anne mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 111 | 92.5% | |
| 2 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 2 | 1.7% | |
| 3 | Heat source: other | 1 | 0.8% | |
| 4 | Arcing | 1 | 0.8% | |
| 5 | Heat, spark from friction | 1 | 0.8% | |
| 6 | Hot ember or ash | 1 | 0.8% | |
| 7 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 1 | 0.8% | |
| 8 | Flame/torch used for lighting | 1 | 0.8% | |
| 9 | Chemical reaction | 1 | 0.8% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Princess Anne departments in 2025. These 2 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $5,000 | Forest, woods or wildland fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $5,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Princess Anne sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 33,905 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2007 | Debris and open burning | 3,208 | 20.1 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,910 | 17.6 mi | |
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,124 | 19.7 mi | |
| 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,066 | 19.5 mi | |
| 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,800 | 17.3 mi | |
| 2001 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,756 | 17.1 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,700 | 17.6 mi | |
| 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,596 | 22.2 mi | |
| 2001 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,580 | 15.5 mi | |
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,367 | 21.8 mi | |
| 2014 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,348 | 19.9 mi | |
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,238 | 16.5 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Maryland cities with population within ±25% of Princess Anne. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.