In 2025, fire departments serving Princeton Junction responded to 13 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 77% of all calls.
Nov peaks. Aug dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
74 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021* | 7 | — | |
| 2022 | 19 | — | |
| 2023 | 14 | -26.3% | |
| 2024 | 21 | +50.0% | |
| 2025 | 13 | -38.1% |
* Well below Princeton Junction's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 1 building fires Princeton Junction departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 25 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 4 | 16.0% | |
| 2 | Outside area, other | 3 | 12.0% | |
| 3 | Chute/container - trash, rubbish, waste | 2 | 8.0% | |
| 4 | Substructure area or space, crawl space | 2 | 8.0% | |
| 5 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 2 | 8.0% | |
| 6 | Railroad right of way: on or near | 2 | 8.0% | |
| 7 | Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace | 2 | 8.0% | |
| 8 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 2 | 8.0% | |
| 9 | Cooking area, kitchen | 1 | 4.0% | |
| 10 | Storage room, area, tank, or bin | 1 | 4.0% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 4 | 16.0% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Princeton Junction mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 13 | 52.0% | |
| 2 | Arcing | 3 | 12.0% | |
| 3 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 2 | 8.0% | |
| 4 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 1 | 4.0% | |
| 5 | Fireworks | 1 | 4.0% | |
| 6 | Cigarette | 1 | 4.0% | |
| 7 | Match | 1 | 4.0% | |
| 8 | Flame/torch used for lighting | 1 | 4.0% | |
| 9 | Sunlight | 1 | 4.0% | |
| 10 | Chemical reaction | 1 | 4.0% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Princeton Junction sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 105,947 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1995 | Arson/incendiarism | 19,225 | 32.8 mi | |
| 2007 | Arson/incendiarism | 17,050 | 45.5 mi | |
| 1999 | Equipment and vehicle use | 11,765 | 44.5 mi | |
| 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 11,638 | 39.1 mi | |
| 1992 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5,284 | 37.3 mi | |
| 1992 | Arson/incendiarism | 4,832 | 39.2 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3,577 | 44.3 mi | |
| 1992 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,900 | 30.3 mi | |
| 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,730 | 29.6 mi | |
| 2002 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,600 | 21.3 mi | |
| 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,450 | 41.8 mi | |
| 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,300 | 23.3 mi |
Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
| # | ZIP | 5-yr incidents | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 08550 | 74 |
Six New Jersey cities with population within ±25% of Princeton Junction. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Princeton Junction.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.