Home› Wisconsin› Princeton
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Princeton, Wisconsin

In 2025, fire departments serving Princeton responded to 30 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $30K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C+ Peak yr 2021 Green Lake County 1,106 residents 0 reporting departments 113 5-yr
Total incidents
30
+100.0% vs 2024
Building fires
12
Residential 67% Other 33%
Property loss
$150K
$91K structure · $59K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 2
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 2 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 80% of all calls.

30
Total Incidents
Building fires 12 40.0%
Forest, woods or wildland fire 4 13.3%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 4 13.3%
Carbon monoxide incident 2 6.7%
Power line down 2 6.7%
All other categories 6 20.0%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Jul peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 1
Feb 0
Mar 6
Apr 4
May 3
Jun 5
Jul 9
Aug 1
Sep 0
Oct 0
Nov 1
Dec 0
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Princeton

113 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $4.4M cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 38 —
2022* 8 —
2023 22 —
2024 15 -31.8%
2025 30 +100.0%

* Well below Princeton's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 12 building fires Princeton departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
62%
5
Cause undetermined
0%
0
Intentional / arson
0%
0
Equipment / heat source failure
25%
2
Under investigation
0%
0
Act of nature (lightning)
13%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Princeton?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 32 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 11 34.4%
2 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 3 9.4%
3 Undetermined 3 9.4%
4 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 2 6.2%
5 Equipment or service area, other 2 6.2%
6 Wall surface: exterior 2 6.2%
7 Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. 2 6.2%
8 Cooking area, kitchen 1 3.1%
9 Bathroom, checkroom, lavatory, locker room 1 3.1%
10 Maintenance shop or area, paint shop or area 1 3.1%
11 All other areas 4 12.5%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Princeton mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 14 43.8%
2 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 9 28.1%
3 Arcing 3 9.4%
4 Heat from powered equipment, other 1 3.1%
5 Molten, hot material 1 3.1%
6 Match 1 3.1%
7 Candle 1 3.1%
8 Heat from direct flame, convection currents 1 3.1%
9 Flying brand, ember, spark 1 3.1%
04 The biggest fires

7 fires · $91K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Princeton departments in 2025. These 7 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $30,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
2 $20,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $20,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
4 $15,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
5 $3,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
6 $2,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
7 $1,000 Cooking fire, confined to container Significant Investigated
05 How Princeton compares

Princeton vs Wisconsin vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Princeton sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

27.12
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Princeton
27.12
WI avg
8.73
US avg
7.48
10.85
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Princeton
10.85
WI avg
1.74
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Princeton
0
WI avg
14.4
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Princeton

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 14,137 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2005 Debris and open burning 3,410 34.8 mi
2003 Arson/incendiarism 1,100 44.3 mi
1994 Arson/incendiarism 1,015 29.1 mi
2014 Debris and open burning 829 20.9 mi
1998 Equipment and vehicle use 630 20.9 mi
2006 Debris and open burning 612 25.3 mi
2003 Debris and open burning 572 13.0 mi
2003 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 508 32.3 mi
2003 Arson/incendiarism 484 21.6 mi
2003 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 400 27.8 mi
2019 Arson/incendiarism 385 29.5 mi
2015 Railroad operations and maintenance 366 36.5 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Princeton do fires concentrate?

Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 54968 113
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Princeton

Six Wisconsin cities with population within ±25% of Princeton. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.