Home› Alabama› Rainbow City
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Rainbow City, Alabama

In 2025, fire departments serving Rainbow City responded to 78 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $150K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade A- Peak yr 2023 Etowah County 10,184 residents 0 reporting departments 336 5-yr
Total incidents
78
+8.3% vs 2024
Building fires
12
Residential 67% Other 33%
Property loss
$351K
$234K structure · $117K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 53% of all calls.

78
Total Incidents
Building fires 12 15.4%
Outside rubbish, trash or waste fire 9 11.5%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 8 10.3%
Fire, other 6 7.7%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 6 7.7%
All other categories 37 47.4%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Mar peaks. Jun dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 3
Feb 7
Mar 30
Apr 2
May 1
Jun 0
Jul 3
Aug 13
Sep 8
Oct 6
Nov 3
Dec 2
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Rainbow City

336 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $437K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 44 —
2022 61 +38.6%
2023 81 +32.8%
2024 72 -11.1%
2025 78 +8.3%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 12 building fires Rainbow City departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
36%
9
Cause undetermined
12%
3
Intentional / arson
16%
4
Equipment / heat source failure
8%
2
Under investigation
20%
5
Act of nature (lightning)
8%
2
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Rainbow City?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 184 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Outside area, other 47 25.5%
2 Undetermined 28 15.2%
3 Cooking area, kitchen 16 8.7%
4 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 16 8.7%
5 Wildland, woods 11 6.0%
6 Other 9 4.9%
7 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 8 4.3%
8 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 5 2.7%
9 Wall surface: exterior 4 2.2%
10 Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace 4 2.2%
11 All other areas 36 19.6%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Rainbow City mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 92 50.0%
2 Heat source: other 12 6.5%
3 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 10 5.4%
4 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 9 4.9%
5 Arcing 8 4.3%
6 Hot or smoldering object, other 8 4.3%
7 Hot ember or ash 6 3.3%
8 Cigarette lighter 6 3.3%
9 Heat from powered equipment, other 5 2.7%
10 Heat from other open flame or smoking materials 5 2.7%
11 All other sources 23 12.5%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $233K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Rainbow City departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $150,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
2 $20,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $15,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
4 $15,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
5 $15,000 Fire in motor home, camper, recreational vehicle Significant Investigated
6 $10,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
7 $5,000 Mobile property (vehicle) fire, other Significant Investigated
8 $3,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
05 How Rainbow City compares

Rainbow City vs Alabama vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Rainbow City sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

7.66
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Rainbow City
7.66
AL avg
9.37
US avg
7.48
1.18
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Rainbow City
1.18
AL avg
1.28
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Rainbow City
0
AL avg
11.3
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Rainbow City

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 34,778 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
1995 Arson/incendiarism 3,321 38.6 mi
1998 Arson/incendiarism 3,108 39.2 mi
2007 Debris and open burning 3,000 24.4 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,500 20.1 mi
2016 Arson/incendiarism 2,229 34.9 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,000 41.5 mi
2000 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,636 23.2 mi
1996 Recreation and ceremony 1,540 38.6 mi
2006 Misuse of fire by a minor 1,448 45.4 mi
2016 Arson/incendiarism 1,350 40.6 mi
2000 Natural 1,100 46.6 mi
1996 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,078 23.3 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Rainbow City do fires concentrate?

Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 35906 332
2 35901 3
3 35903 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Rainbow City

Six Alabama cities with population within ±25% of Rainbow City. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.