Home› Arkansas› Rison
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Rison, Arkansas

In 2025, fire departments serving Rison responded to 15 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $100K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C+ Peak yr 2022 Cleveland County 917 residents 1 reporting departments 117 5-yr
Total incidents
15
-42.3% vs 2024
Building fires
1
Residential 0% Other 100%
Property loss
$184K
$169K structure · $15K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 87% of all calls.

15
Total Incidents
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 7 46.7%
Mobile property (vehicle) fire, other 2 13.3%
Forest, woods or wildland fire 2 13.3%
Fire, other 1 6.7%
Building fires 1 6.7%
All other categories 2 13.3%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Mar peaks. May dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 2
Feb 2
Mar 8
Apr 3
May 0
Jun 0
Jul 0
Aug 0
Sep 0
Oct 0
Nov 0
Dec 0
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Rison

117 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $887K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 21 —
2022 32 +52.4%
2023 23 -28.1%
2024 26 +13.0%
2025 15 -42.3%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 1 building fires Rison departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
20%
2
Cause undetermined
10%
1
Intentional / arson
50%
5
Equipment / heat source failure
10%
1
Under investigation
0%
0
Act of nature (lightning)
10%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Rison?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 77 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 20 26.0%
2 Wildland, woods 11 14.3%
3 Undetermined 8 10.4%
4 Vehicle area, other 4 5.2%
5 Outside area, other 4 5.2%
6 Other 3 3.9%
7 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 3 3.9%
8 Cooking area, kitchen 3 3.9%
9 Wall surface: exterior 3 3.9%
10 Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. 3 3.9%
11 All other areas 15 19.5%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Rison mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 21 27.3%
2 Match 19 24.7%
3 Arcing 9 11.7%
4 Heat from powered equipment, other 6 7.8%
5 Hot ember or ash 5 6.5%
6 Cigarette 3 3.9%
7 Heat source: other 2 2.6%
8 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 2 2.6%
9 Cigarette lighter 2 2.6%
10 Lightning 2 2.6%
11 All other sources 6 7.8%
04 The biggest fires

6 fires · $169K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Rison departments in 2025. These 6 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $100,000 Fire in mobile home used as fixed residence Significant Investigated
2 $50,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $10,000 Forest, woods or wildland fire Significant Investigated
4 $5,000 Forest, woods or wildland fire Significant Investigated
5 $4,000 Mobile property (vehicle) fire, other Significant Investigated
6 $100 Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire Significant Investigated
05 How Rison compares

Rison vs Arkansas vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Rison sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

16.36
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Rison
16.36
AR avg
11.9
US avg
7.48
1.09
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Rison
1.09
AR avg
1.61
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Rison
0
AR avg
16.6
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Rison

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 14,924 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2005 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 3,070 22.5 mi
2013 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,509 40.9 mi
2012 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,414 37.5 mi
2010 Arson/incendiarism 1,013 47.9 mi
2013 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 755 47.1 mi
2016 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 606 39.1 mi
2013 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 495 29.8 mi
2011 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 490 40.7 mi
2010 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 486 35.8 mi
2010 Arson/incendiarism 486 42.4 mi
2011 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 475 46.8 mi
2016 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 468 47.7 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Rison do fires concentrate?

Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 71665 115
2 70665 1
3 72665 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Rison

Six Arkansas cities with population within ±25% of Rison. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Rison?

1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Rison.

PANSY
60 roberts road
FDID 13008
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.