Home› Alabama› Roanoke
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Roanoke, Alabama

In 2025, fire departments serving Roanoke responded to 29 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $200K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade A Peak yr 2025 Randolph County 5,346 residents 1 reporting departments 50 5-yr
Total incidents
29
+93.3% vs 2024
Building fires
6
Residential 67% Other 33%
Property loss
$485K
$345K structure · $140K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 83% of all calls.

29
Total Incidents
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 10 34.5%
Building fires 6 20.7%
Forest, woods or wildland fire 3 10.3%
Vehicle accident, general cleanup 3 10.3%
Passenger vehicle fire 2 6.9%
All other categories 5 17.2%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Mar peaks. Jun dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 5
Feb 2
Mar 7
Apr 1
May 2
Jun 0
Jul 2
Aug 3
Sep 1
Oct 2
Nov 3
Dec 1
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Roanoke

50 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $430K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021* 1 —
2022* 1 —
2023* 4 —
2024 15 —
2025 29 +93.3%

* Well below Roanoke's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 6 building fires Roanoke departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
43%
10
Cause undetermined
9%
2
Intentional / arson
13%
3
Equipment / heat source failure
13%
3
Under investigation
13%
3
Act of nature (lightning)
9%
2
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Roanoke?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 35 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 14 40.0%
2 Other 8 22.9%
3 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 3 8.6%
4 Outside area, other 2 5.7%
5 Cooking area, kitchen 1 2.9%
6 Storage: supplies or tools; dead storage 1 2.9%
7 Ceiling & floor assembly, crawl space b/t stories 1 2.9%
8 Wall assembly 1 2.9%
9 Wall surface: exterior 1 2.9%
10 Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles 1 2.9%
11 All other areas 2 5.7%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Roanoke mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 16 45.7%
2 Hot ember or ash 4 11.4%
3 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 3 8.6%
4 Arcing 3 8.6%
5 Heat source: other 2 5.7%
6 Heat from powered equipment, other 1 2.9%
7 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 1 2.9%
8 Hot or smoldering object, other 1 2.9%
9 Heat from other open flame or smoking materials 1 2.9%
10 Match 1 2.9%
11 All other sources 2 5.7%
04 The biggest fires

4 fires · $345K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Roanoke departments in 2025. These 4 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $200,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
2 $75,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $50,000 Fires in structures other than in a building Significant Investigated
4 $20,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
05 How Roanoke compares

Roanoke vs Alabama vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Roanoke sits below the national average for incidents per resident.

5.42
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Roanoke
5.42
AL avg
9.37
US avg
7.48
1.12
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Roanoke
1.12
AL avg
1.28
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Roanoke
0
AL avg
11.3
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Roanoke

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 20,537 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
1998 Arson/incendiarism 3,108 33.1 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,500 48.5 mi
2016 Arson/incendiarism 2,229 36.3 mi
1996 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,078 45.7 mi
2016 Recreation and ceremony 1,066 43.3 mi
2016 Arson/incendiarism 988 35.5 mi
2016 Arson/incendiarism 932 32.4 mi
2012 Arson/incendiarism 867 46.1 mi
2016 Equipment and vehicle use 800 49.0 mi
1996 Debris and open burning 750 34.4 mi
2007 Natural 615 31.3 mi
2016 Arson/incendiarism 570 42.9 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Roanoke do fires concentrate?

Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 36274 49
2 36276 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Roanoke

Six Alabama cities with population within ±25% of Roanoke. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Roanoke?

1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Roanoke.

Roanoke VFD
139 Chestnut ST
FDID 05601
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.