Home› North Carolina› Roanoke Rapids
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina

In 2025, fire departments serving Roanoke Rapids responded to 13 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade B+ Peak yr 2021 Halifax County 15,143 residents 1 reporting departments 114 5-yr

Incomplete 2025 data. Roanoke Rapids's departments reported 13 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 23 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.

Total incidents
13
Not comparable with 2024 (incomplete reporting)
Building fires
11
Residential 64% Other 36%
Property loss
$0
$0 structure · $0 contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 100% of all calls.

13
Total Incidents
Building fires 11 84.6%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 2 15.4%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Dec peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 0
Feb 0
Mar 0
Apr 2
May 1
Jun 2
Jul 0
Aug 1
Sep 1
Oct 0
Nov 2
Dec 4
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Roanoke Rapids

114 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $160K cumulative property loss. 1 civilian deaths.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 80 —
2022* 7 —
2023* 9 —
2024* 5 —
2025* 13 —

* Well below Roanoke Rapids's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 11 building fires Roanoke Rapids departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Roanoke Rapids?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 18 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 6 33.3%
2 Cooking area, kitchen 5 27.8%
3 Outside area, other 3 16.7%
4 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 2 11.1%
5 Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge 1 5.6%
6 Structural area, other 1 5.6%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Roanoke Rapids mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 14 77.8%
2 Heat source: other 1 5.6%
3 Heat from powered equipment, other 1 5.6%
4 Arcing 1 5.6%
5 Hot ember or ash 1 5.6%
05 How Roanoke Rapids compares

Roanoke Rapids vs North Carolina vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Roanoke Rapids sits below the national average for incidents per resident.

0.86
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Roanoke Rapids
0.86
NC avg
9.36
US avg
7.48
0.73
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Roanoke Rapids
0.73
NC avg
1.35
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Roanoke Rapids
0
NC avg
8.6
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Roanoke Rapids

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 16,399 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,850 39.1 mi
2011 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,030 31.2 mi
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,012 21.9 mi
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,778 48.7 mi
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,521 13.5 mi
2008 Equipment and vehicle use 1,250 26.0 mi
2001 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 865 48.2 mi
2011 Debris and open burning 545 33.5 mi
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 300 42.3 mi
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 274 45.1 mi
2010 Smoking 274 27.6 mi
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 257 46.2 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Roanoke Rapids do fires concentrate?

Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 27870 107
2 27850 7
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Roanoke Rapids

Six North Carolina cities with population within ±25% of Roanoke Rapids. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Roanoke Rapids?

1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Roanoke Rapids.

ROANOKE RAPIDS FIRE DEPARTMENT
643 ROANOKE AVE
FDID 0420832 paid
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.