In 2025, fire departments serving Robertsdale responded to 89 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $30K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Robertsdale's departments reported 89 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 213 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 70% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Nov dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
1,066 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $683K cumulative property loss. 2 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 226 | — | |
| 2022 | 232 | +2.7% | |
| 2023 | 297 | +28.0% | |
| 2024 | 222 | -25.3% | |
| 2025* | 89 | — |
* Well below Robertsdale's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 17 building fires Robertsdale departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 338 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 99 | 29.3% | |
| 2 | Undetermined | 50 | 14.8% | |
| 3 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 33 | 9.8% | |
| 4 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 24 | 7.1% | |
| 5 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 20 | 5.9% | |
| 6 | Cooking area, kitchen | 16 | 4.7% | |
| 7 | Wildland, woods | 14 | 4.1% | |
| 8 | Vehicle area, other | 12 | 3.6% | |
| 9 | Other | 11 | 3.3% | |
| 10 | Function area, other | 6 | 1.8% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 53 | 15.7% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Robertsdale mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 156 | 46.2% | |
| 2 | Match | 36 | 10.7% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 26 | 7.7% | |
| 4 | Heat source: other | 25 | 7.4% | |
| 5 | Cigarette lighter | 16 | 4.7% | |
| 6 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 12 | 3.6% | |
| 7 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 9 | 2.7% | |
| 8 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 8 | 2.4% | |
| 9 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 8 | 2.4% | |
| 10 | Lightning | 6 | 1.8% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 36 | 10.7% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Robertsdale departments in 2025. These 3 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $30,000 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $7,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $2,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Robertsdale sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
8 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 2 | |
| 20-29 | 2 | |
| 30-39 | 2 | |
| 40-49 | 1 | |
| 50-59 | 1 | |
| 60-69 | 0 | |
| 70-79 | 0 | |
| 80+ | 0 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 44,044 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4,490 | 45.3 mi | |
| 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 4,394 | 36.1 mi | |
| 2016 | Debris and open burning | 4,248 | 45.4 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,400 | 49.7 mi | |
| 2020 | Debris and open burning | 2,215 | 37.3 mi | |
| 2009 | Debris and open burning | 2,100 | 36.1 mi | |
| 2006 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1,846 | 9.2 mi | |
| 2011 | Natural | 1,600 | 14.8 mi | |
| 2015 | Natural | 1,594 | 29.5 mi | |
| 2012 | Natural | 1,555 | 15.9 mi | |
| 1993 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,500 | 43.6 mi | |
| 2015 | Natural | 1,306 | 48.2 mi |
Top 5 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Alabama cities with population within ±25% of Robertsdale. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.