Home› Texas› Robstown
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Robstown, Texas

In 2025, fire departments serving Robstown responded to 225 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $50K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade B- Peak yr 2022 Nueces County 10,246 residents 3 reporting departments 927 5-yr
Total incidents
225
+45.2% vs 2024
Building fires
19
Residential 63% Other 37%
Property loss
$195K
$133K structure · $63K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Grass fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 60% of all calls.

225
Total Incidents
Grass fire 40 17.8%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 40 17.8%
Arcing, shorted electrical equipment 23 10.2%
Building fires 19 8.4%
Trash or rubbish fire, contained 14 6.2%
All other categories 89 39.6%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Nov peaks. Dec dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 27
Feb 20
Mar 29
Apr 19
May 20
Jun 11
Jul 12
Aug 10
Sep 11
Oct 22
Nov 36
Dec 8
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Robstown

927 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $1.6M cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 148 —
2022 230 +55.4%
2023 169 -26.5%
2024 155 -8.3%
2025 225 +45.2%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 19 building fires Robstown departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
26%
14
Cause undetermined
39%
21
Intentional / arson
20%
11
Equipment / heat source failure
2%
1
Under investigation
9%
5
Act of nature (lightning)
4%
2
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Robstown?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 364 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 119 32.7%
2 Undetermined 55 15.1%
3 Outside area, other 53 14.6%
4 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 25 6.9%
5 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 22 6.0%
6 Cooking area, kitchen 12 3.3%
7 Other 11 3.0%
8 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 9 2.5%
9 Vehicle area, other 7 1.9%
10 Storage area, other 5 1.4%
11 All other areas 46 12.6%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Robstown mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 230 63.2%
2 Heat source: other 19 5.2%
3 Cigarette lighter 16 4.4%
4 Arcing 13 3.6%
5 Heat from direct flame, convection currents 13 3.6%
6 Hot or smoldering object, other 11 3.0%
7 Match 10 2.7%
8 Heat from powered equipment, other 6 1.6%
9 Hot ember or ash 6 1.6%
10 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 5 1.4%
11 All other sources 35 9.6%
04 The biggest fires

7 fires · $133K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Robstown departments in 2025. These 7 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $50,000 Fires in structures other than in a building Significant Investigated
2 $50,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $20,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
4 $5,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
5 $5,000 Outside rubbish, trash or waste fire Significant Investigated
6 $2,000 Outside equipment fire Significant Investigated
7 $500 Electrical wiring/equipment problem, other Significant Investigated
05 How Robstown compares

Robstown vs Texas vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Robstown sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

21.96
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Robstown
21.96
TX avg
7.68
US avg
7.48
1.85
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Robstown
1.85
TX avg
0.7
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Robstown
0
TX avg
5.4
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Robstown

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 70,002 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2012 Natural 12,998 35.2 mi
2005 Natural 10,003 35.6 mi
2008 Equipment and vehicle use 4,934 31.3 mi
2011 Debris and open burning 4,800 40.6 mi
2018 Natural 4,517 43.5 mi
2011 Arson/incendiarism 3,200 22.7 mi
2011 Debris and open burning 3,000 49.9 mi
2008 Debris and open burning 3,000 20.9 mi
2018 Debris and open burning 3,000 49.0 mi
2009 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,000 27.7 mi
2011 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,000 19.3 mi
2009 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,000 18.3 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Robstown do fires concentrate?

Top 10 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 78380 905
2 78410 12
3 78315 2
4 78415 2
5 78339 1
6 78343 1
7 78370 1
8 78387 1
9 78430 1
10 78480 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Robstown

Six Texas cities with population within ±25% of Robstown. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Robstown?

3 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Robstown.

Robstown FD
E 516 AVENUE B ST
FDID SP61110 paid · 31 volunteer
Nueces County ESD4
5781 Cobb LN
FDID SP505Volunteer
Annaville VFD
5241 CR 73
FDID SP502
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.