Home› Ohio› Roseville
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Roseville, Ohio

In 2025, fire departments serving Roseville responded to 85 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $130K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade D Peak yr 2024 Perry County 2,053 residents 0 reporting departments 405 5-yr
Total incidents
85
-20.6% vs 2024
Building fires
32
Residential 66% Other 34%
Property loss
$518K
$292K structure · $227K contents
Deaths & injuries
1 / 3
1 civilian deaths · 3 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 70% of all calls.

85
Total Incidents
Building fires 32 37.6%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 10 11.8%
Outside rubbish, trash or waste fire 6 7.1%
Unauthorized burning 6 7.1%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 5 5.9%
All other categories 26 30.6%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Mar peaks. Jun dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 3
Feb 5
Mar 17
Apr 8
May 5
Jun 0
Jul 2
Aug 17
Sep 4
Oct 14
Nov 7
Dec 3
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Roseville

405 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $1.5M cumulative property loss. 1 civilian deaths.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 54 —
2022 70 +29.6%
2023 89 +27.1%
2024 107 +20.2%
2025 85 -20.6%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 32 building fires Roseville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
50%
8
Cause undetermined
19%
3
Intentional / arson
6%
1
Equipment / heat source failure
0%
0
Under investigation
19%
3
Act of nature (lightning)
6%
1
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Roseville?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 96 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 20 20.8%
2 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 13 13.5%
3 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 10 10.4%
4 Outside area, other 7 7.3%
5 Cooking area, kitchen 5 5.2%
6 Structural area, other 5 5.2%
7 Wildland, woods 5 5.2%
8 Other 3 3.1%
9 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 3 3.1%
10 Wall assembly 3 3.1%
11 All other areas 22 22.9%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Roseville mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 36 37.5%
2 Hot ember or ash 14 14.6%
3 Arcing 11 11.5%
4 Hot or smoldering object, other 6 6.2%
5 Heat from powered equipment, other 5 5.2%
6 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 5 5.2%
7 Cigarette lighter 5 5.2%
8 Heat, spark from friction 3 3.1%
9 Heat source: other 2 2.1%
10 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 2 2.1%
11 All other sources 7 7.3%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $292K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Roseville departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $130,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
2 $50,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $50,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
4 $30,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
5 $20,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
6 $10,000 Fire in mobile prop. used as a fixed struc., other Significant Investigated
7 $1,000 Outside storage fire Significant Investigated
8 $570 Building fires Significant Investigated
05 How Roseville compares

Roseville vs Ohio vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Roseville sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

41.4
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Roseville
41.4
OH avg
11.06
US avg
7.48
15.59
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Roseville
15.59
OH avg
1.94
US avg
0.85
487.1
Civilian fire deaths per million
Roseville
487.1
OH avg
10.3
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Roseville

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,849 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2010 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 355 46.5 mi
2013 Arson/incendiarism 280 44.7 mi
2013 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 150 31.8 mi
2015 Power generation/transmission/distribution 131 37.6 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 100 36.7 mi
2013 Recreation and ceremony 75 27.7 mi
2020 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 60 34.6 mi
2013 Power generation/transmission/distribution 53 20.7 mi
2015 Debris and open burning 50 18.8 mi
2015 Debris and open burning 50 4.2 mi
2015 Arson/incendiarism 50 1.8 mi
2020 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 50 42.3 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Roseville do fires concentrate?

Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 43777 402
2 43701 2
3 43731 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Roseville

Six Ohio cities with population within ±25% of Roseville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.