Home› Idaho› Rupert
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Rupert, Idaho

In 2025, fire departments serving Rupert responded to 96 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $715K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade B Peak yr 2025 Minidoka County 6,066 residents 1 reporting departments 408 5-yr
Total incidents
96
+29.7% vs 2024
Building fires
9
Residential 67% Other 33%
Property loss
$1.8M
$1.5M structure · $309K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Unauthorized burning lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 56% of all calls.

96
Total Incidents
Unauthorized burning 25 26.0%
Building fires 9 9.4%
Grass fire 9 9.4%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 6 6.2%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 5 5.2%
All other categories 42 43.8%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Apr peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 9
Feb 2
Mar 10
Apr 13
May 7
Jun 8
Jul 10
Aug 6
Sep 7
Oct 4
Nov 12
Dec 8
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Rupert

408 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $3.8M cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 82 —
2022 92 +12.2%
2023 64 -30.4%
2024 74 +15.6%
2025 96 +29.7%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 9 building fires Rupert departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
68%
26
Cause undetermined
11%
4
Intentional / arson
8%
3
Equipment / heat source failure
13%
5
Under investigation
0%
0
Act of nature (lightning)
0%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Rupert?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 119 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 21 17.6%
2 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 17 14.3%
3 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 17 14.3%
4 Outside area, other 9 7.6%
5 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 6 5.0%
6 Attic: vacant, crawl space above top story, cupola 4 3.4%
7 Wall assembly 4 3.4%
8 Vehicle area, other 4 3.4%
9 Exterior, exposed surface 4 3.4%
10 Railroad right of way: on or near 4 3.4%
11 All other areas 29 24.4%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Rupert mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 48 40.3%
2 Hot or smoldering object, other 13 10.9%
3 Arcing 11 9.2%
4 Heat, spark from friction 8 6.7%
5 Hot ember or ash 7 5.9%
6 Heat from powered equipment, other 6 5.0%
7 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 6 5.0%
8 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 5 4.2%
9 Molten, hot material 5 4.2%
10 Fireworks 3 2.5%
11 All other sources 7 5.9%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $1.4M in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Rupert departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 94% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $715,000 Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire Major Investigated
2 $250,000 Building fires Major Investigated
3 $244,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
4 $75,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
5 $40,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
6 $40,000 Road freight or transport vehicle fire Significant Investigated
7 $25,000 Outside storage fire Significant Investigated
8 $15,000 Road freight or transport vehicle fire Significant Investigated
05 How Rupert compares

Rupert vs Idaho vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Rupert sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

15.83
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Rupert
15.83
ID avg
8.39
US avg
7.48
1.48
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Rupert
1.48
ID avg
0.79
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Rupert
0
ID avg
4.4
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Rupert

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,846,547 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2006 Natural 220,042 32.1 mi
1996 Natural 206,202 46.9 mi
1996 Natural 178,459 37.8 mi
1992 Natural 149,250 33.0 mi
2012 Natural 140,954 23.8 mi
1999 Natural 132,208 35.4 mi
2020 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 90,143 44.4 mi
2012 Natural 88,909 30.7 mi
2007 Natural 72,361 37.0 mi
2017 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 55,529 48.6 mi
2000 Natural 53,605 35.0 mi
2017 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 49,912 47.5 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Rupert do fires concentrate?

Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 83350 407
2 83336 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Rupert

Six Idaho cities with population within ±25% of Rupert. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Rupert?

1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Rupert.

Rupert City Fire Rescue
701 F Street
FDID 673011 paid
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.