Home› New Jersey› Sewell
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Sewell, New Jersey

In 2025, fire departments serving Sewell responded to 118 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $518K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C+ Peak yr 2025 Gloucester County 3,132 residents 3 reporting departments 342 5-yr
Total incidents
118
+21.6% vs 2024
Building fires
13
Residential 62% Other 38%
Property loss
$620K
$518K structure · $102K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 1
0 civilian deaths · 1 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Power line down lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 60% of all calls.

118
Total Incidents
Power line down 21 17.8%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 16 13.6%
Building fires 13 11.0%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 13 11.0%
Passenger vehicle fire 8 6.8%
All other categories 47 39.8%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Apr peaks. Aug dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 4
Feb 10
Mar 11
Apr 16
May 6
Jun 12
Jul 16
Aug 3
Sep 14
Oct 6
Nov 5
Dec 15
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Sewell

342 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $518K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 42 —
2022 74 +76.2%
2023* 11 —
2024 97 —
2025 118 +21.6%

* Well below Sewell's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 13 building fires Sewell departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
65%
22
Cause undetermined
6%
2
Intentional / arson
0%
0
Equipment / heat source failure
21%
7
Under investigation
3%
1
Act of nature (lightning)
5%
2
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Sewell?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 94 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 23 24.5%
2 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 13 13.8%
3 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 12 12.8%
4 Undetermined 10 10.6%
5 Railroad right of way: on or near 9 9.6%
6 Cooking area, kitchen 4 4.3%
7 Outside area, other 4 4.3%
8 Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace 4 4.3%
9 Wildland, woods 4 4.3%
10 Other 2 2.1%
11 All other areas 9 9.6%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Sewell mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 27 28.7%
2 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 20 21.3%
3 Hot ember or ash 12 12.8%
4 Heat from powered equipment, other 5 5.3%
5 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 5 5.3%
6 Arcing 4 4.3%
7 Heat, spark from friction 3 3.2%
8 Cigarette 3 3.2%
9 Heat source: other 2 2.1%
10 Hot or smoldering object, other 2 2.1%
11 All other sources 11 11.7%
04 The biggest fires

1 fires · $518K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Sewell departments in 2025. These 1 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $518,000 Building fires Major Investigated
05 How Sewell compares

Sewell vs New Jersey vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Sewell sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

37.68
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Sewell
37.68
NJ avg
6.57
US avg
7.48
4.15
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Sewell
4.15
NJ avg
0.58
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Sewell
0
NJ avg
2.3
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Sewell

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 110,555 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
1995 Arson/incendiarism 19,225 45.4 mi
2007 Arson/incendiarism 17,050 44.5 mi
1999 Equipment and vehicle use 11,765 38.8 mi
2019 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 11,638 36.9 mi
1992 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 5,284 45.1 mi
1992 Arson/incendiarism 4,832 47.4 mi
2017 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 3,577 27.5 mi
2017 Natural 3,477 47.8 mi
1992 Arson/incendiarism 2,900 31.2 mi
2001 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,730 46.2 mi
2002 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,600 38.7 mi
2007 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,450 23.7 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Sewell do fires concentrate?

Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 08080 341
2 08096 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Sewell

Six New Jersey cities with population within ±25% of Sewell. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Sewell?

3 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Sewell.

Barnsboro Fire Co
721 Main ST
FDID 08221Volunteer
Mantua Township Fire District
155 E Union
FDID 08220
Mutual Fire Co1 of Sewell
155 E Union AVE
FDID 08224
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.