In 2025, fire departments serving Shannon Hills responded to 12 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $60K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Shannon Hills's departments reported 12 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 43 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Grass fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 75% of all calls.
Jan peaks. Apr dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
214 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $843K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 31 | — | |
| 2022 | 74 | +138.7% | |
| 2023 | 54 | -27.0% | |
| 2024 | 43 | -20.4% | |
| 2025* | 12 | — |
* Well below Shannon Hills's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 2 building fires Shannon Hills departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 41 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 6 | 14.6% | |
| 2 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 5 | 12.2% | |
| 3 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 5 | 12.2% | |
| 4 | Wall surface: exterior | 4 | 9.8% | |
| 5 | Cooking area, kitchen | 3 | 7.3% | |
| 6 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 3 | 7.3% | |
| 7 | Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace | 3 | 7.3% | |
| 8 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 3 | 7.3% | |
| 9 | Storage room, area, tank, or bin | 2 | 4.9% | |
| 10 | Corridor, mall | 1 | 2.4% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 6 | 14.6% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Shannon Hills mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 29 | 70.7% | |
| 2 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 4 | 9.8% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 2 | 4.9% | |
| 4 | Heat spread from another fire, other | 2 | 4.9% | |
| 5 | Heat from undetermined smoking material | 1 | 2.4% | |
| 6 | Backfire from internal combustion engine | 1 | 2.4% | |
| 7 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 1 | 2.4% | |
| 8 | Conducted heat from another fire | 1 | 2.4% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Shannon Hills departments in 2025. These 3 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $60,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $5,000 | Fire in mobile home used as fixed residence | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $5,000 | Fires in structures other than in a building | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Shannon Hills sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 19,676 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2006 | Natural | 5,091 | 38.4 mi | |
| 2014 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,067 | 45.2 mi | |
| 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,500 | 20.1 mi | |
| 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,401 | 44.8 mi | |
| 2017 | Arson/incendiarism | 954 | 39.4 mi | |
| 2012 | Natural | 825 | 47.1 mi | |
| 2010 | Debris and open burning | 705 | 41.8 mi | |
| 2014 | Natural | 695 | 39.4 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 636 | 26.2 mi | |
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 540 | 32.1 mi | |
| 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | 486 | 17.4 mi | |
| 2012 | Natural | 413 | 24.6 mi |
Top 4 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Arkansas cities with population within ±25% of Shannon Hills. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.