Home› Kansas› South Hutchinson
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in South Hutchinson, Kansas

In 2025, fire departments serving South Hutchinson responded to 39 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $500 building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade B Peak yr 2021 Reno County 2,820 residents 0 reporting departments 186 5-yr
Total incidents
39
+0.0% vs 2024
Building fires
2
Residential 50% Other 50%
Property loss
$2K
$500 structure · $1K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 56% of all calls.

39
Total Incidents
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 9 23.1%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 5 12.8%
Carbon monoxide incident 3 7.7%
Power line down 3 7.7%
Building fires 2 5.1%
All other categories 17 43.6%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Jul peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 1
Feb 0
Mar 3
Apr 2
May 3
Jun 3
Jul 7
Aug 5
Sep 6
Oct 1
Nov 2
Dec 6
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in South Hutchinson

186 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $599K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 52 —
2022 34 -34.6%
2023* 22 —
2024 39 —
2025 39 +0.0%

* Well below South Hutchinson's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 2 building fires South Hutchinson departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
50%
6
Cause undetermined
33%
4
Intentional / arson
17%
2
Equipment / heat source failure
0%
0
Under investigation
0%
0
Act of nature (lightning)
0%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in South Hutchinson?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 55 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Outside area, other 12 21.8%
2 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 6 10.9%
3 Cooking area, kitchen 5 9.1%
4 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 4 7.3%
5 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 4 7.3%
6 Roof surface: exterior 3 5.5%
7 Railroad right of way: on or near 3 5.5%
8 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 3 5.5%
9 Other 2 3.6%
10 Storage area, other 2 3.6%
11 All other areas 11 20.0%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the South Hutchinson mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 20 36.4%
2 Arcing 9 16.4%
3 Heat from powered equipment, other 6 10.9%
4 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 4 7.3%
5 Heat source: other 3 5.5%
6 Hot or smoldering object, other 3 5.5%
7 Hot ember or ash 2 3.6%
8 Fireworks 2 3.6%
9 Cigarette lighter 2 3.6%
10 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 1 1.8%
11 All other sources 3 5.5%
04 The biggest fires

1 fires · $500 in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by South Hutchinson departments in 2025. These 1 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $500 Trash or rubbish fire, contained Significant Investigated
05 How South Hutchinson compares

South Hutchinson vs Kansas vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. South Hutchinson sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

13.83
Incidents per 1,000 residents
South Hutchinson
13.83
KS avg
9.65
US avg
7.48
0.71
Building fires per 1,000 residents
South Hutchinson
0.71
KS avg
0.98
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
South Hutchinson
0
KS avg
8.5
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of South Hutchinson

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 107,459 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
1994 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 16,000 13.2 mi
2016 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 14,000 13.3 mi
2006 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 8,800 14.8 mi
2018 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 8,000 18.1 mi
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 6,400 23.9 mi
1996 Arson/incendiarism 6,000 36.4 mi
2011 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 5,000 25.8 mi
1994 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 4,960 35.5 mi
2020 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 4,945 14.7 mi
2010 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 3,664 34.7 mi
2015 Debris and open burning 3,000 44.5 mi
2017 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 3,000 36.2 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in South Hutchinson do fires concentrate?

Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 67505 185
2 67565 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to South Hutchinson

Six Kansas cities with population within ±25% of South Hutchinson. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.